Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 55/100

Albertus Magnus College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

New Haven, Connecticut

About Albertus Magnus College

Thinking about Albertus Magnus College, a college in Connecticut where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Albertus Magnus College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in New Haven, Connecticut. It enrolls 991 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
59.3%
Graduation
60.5%
Net Price
$34,028
Median Earnings (10yr)
$60,144
Enrollment
991
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
55/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 33
Value 12
Affordability 47
Selectivity 76

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Albertus Magnus College admits 59.3% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
59.3%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Albertus Magnus College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Getting more selective ↓ 19.1 pts since 2019
83.5%201981.3%202081.7%202180.5%202264.4%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $34,028 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$34,028
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
51%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
74%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$41,908
Room & Board (on-campus)
$15,756
Room & Board (off-campus)
$15,076
Books & Supplies
$1,000
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$7,440
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,440
Total Cost of Attendance
$59,407

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $35,343
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $35,537
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $36,279
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $30,273
  • Over $110,000
    $31,523

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,750
10% percentile
$9,500
25% percentile
$30,964
Median percentile
$34,642
75% percentile
$46,062
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $25,899 ↓ $5,065
No Pell $19,140 ↓ $11,824
Dependent students $15,000 ↓ $15,964
Independent students $29,552 ↓ $1,412
Female students $25,899 ↓ $5,065
Male students $19,500 ↓ $11,464
Pell recipients: 19.2% (5,941 students)No Pell: 14.2% (4,390 students)Dependent students: 11.1% (3,441 students)Independent students: 21.9% (6,779 students)Female students: 19.2% (5,941 students)Male students: 14.4% (4,473 students)Overall Median$30,964
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $10,063, less than completers ($30,964), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

61% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
61%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $60,144 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$60,144
Earning > $25K
80%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$45,000$49,000$54,000$58,000$62,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$53,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$63,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$41,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$53,800

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$68,600

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $10,800, about 17% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 23.1 pts across 6 years
42.5%1yr52.4%3yr60.5%5yr65.7%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 66% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 991 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 53% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
991
Part-Time
6%
First-Generation
53%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 32.7% 324
Hispanic 28.7% 284
Black 28.1% 278
International 4.2% 42
Other 3.4% 34
Asian 1.4% 14
White: 32.7% (324 students)Hispanic: 28.7% (284 students)Black: 28.1% (278 students)International: 4.2% (42 students)Other: 3.4% (34 students)Asian: 1.4% (14 students)Total991

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Albertus Magnus College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City New Haven, Connecticut
Housing
Partly residential 352 beds available
Adult Learners
31% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Albertus Magnus College offers a varied set of programs: 37 distinct programs across 19 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

9 Programs
5 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$44M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$74,597
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

46 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 18 39% $81,687
Associate Professors 13 28% $74,676
Assistant Professors 14 30% $66,894
Instructors 1 2% $60,863

Pros & Cons of Albertus Magnus College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Albertus Magnus College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Albertus Magnus College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Albertus Magnus College

The questions families ask most about Albertus Magnus College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Albertus Magnus College hard to get into?
Admissions at Albertus Magnus College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 59.3%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Albertus Magnus College?
59.3% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Albertus Magnus College cost?
Budget around $34,028 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Albertus Magnus College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $60,144 a year against a net price of $34,028, about 1.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Albertus Magnus College known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Business Administration, Criminal Justice. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Albertus Magnus College graduates earn?
About $60,144 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Albertus Magnus College accredited?
Yes. Albertus Magnus College is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Albertus Magnus College?
991 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Albertus Magnus College?
61% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Albertus Magnus College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Albertus Magnus College located?
Albertus Magnus College is located in New Haven, Connecticut.
What programs does Albertus Magnus College offer?
37 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Business Administration, Criminal Justice. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Albertus Magnus College?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.