Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 45/100

Allen College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Waterloo, Iowa

About Allen College

Thinking about Allen College, a college in Iowa where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Allen College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Waterloo, Iowa. It enrolls 261 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
63.2%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$71,261
Enrollment
261
Student : Faculty
8:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
45/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes —
Value —
Affordability 21
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Allen College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Allen College has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
24%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
68%
Borrowing to attend

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,150
10% percentile
$9,500
25% percentile
$18,750
Median percentile
$21,233
75% percentile
$28,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $15,000 ↓ $3,750
No Pell $15,000 ↓ $3,750
Dependent students $14,981 ↓ $3,769
Independent students $20,834 ↑ $2,084
Female students $15,000 ↓ $3,750
Male students $13,000 ↓ $5,750
Pell recipients: 16.0% (2,998 students)No Pell: 16.0% (2,998 students)Dependent students: 16.0% (2,994 students)Independent students: 22.2% (4,164 students)Female students: 16.0% (2,998 students)Male students: 13.9% (2,598 students)Overall Median$18,750
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $14,966, close to what completers borrow ($18,750) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

63% of students who start here finish within six years. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
63%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $71,261 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$71,261
Earning > $25K
90%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$64,000$66,000$68,000$70,000$72,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 4.7 pts across 6 years
87.2%1yr91.2%3yr91.9%5yr
What this signals: Excellent. 92% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 261 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
261
Part-Time
17%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 77.0% 201
Other 2.7% 7
Hispanic 1.5% 4
Black 1.2% 3
Asian 1.2% 3
International 1.2% 3
White: 77.0% (201 students)Other: 2.7% (7 students)Hispanic: 1.5% (4 students)Black: 1.2% (3 students)Asian: 1.2% (3 students)International: 1.2% (3 students)Total261

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Allen College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Waterloo, Iowa
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
16% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Allen College offers a varied set of programs: 12 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

12 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 8 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$29M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$70,707
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

42 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 10 24% $87,086
Associate Professors 15 36% $70,488
Assistant Professors 14 33% $64,263
Instructors 3 7% $47,279

Pros & Cons of Allen College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Allen College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Allen College is a fit for students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Allen College

The questions families ask most about Allen College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

What is Allen College known for?
Mostly Nursing, Nursing, Rehabilitation. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Allen College graduates earn?
About $71,261 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Allen College accredited?
Yes. Allen College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Allen College?
261 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Allen College?
63% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Allen College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Allen College located?
Allen College is located in Waterloo, Iowa.
What programs does Allen College offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Nursing, Rehabilitation. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Allen College?
8 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.