Thinking about American College of Healthcare Sciences, a college in Oregon where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.
American College of Healthcare Sciences is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Portland, Oregon. It enrolls 759 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
79/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes68
Value—
Affordability64
Selectivity81
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
American College of Healthcare Sciences admits 53.5% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.
Acceptance Rate
53.5%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyNot ConsideredStandardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether American College of Healthcare Sciences is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Becoming less selective ↑
23.4 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $23,782 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$13,040
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,249
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$9,467
Total Cost of Attendance
$29,923
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$22,738
$30,001 – $48,000
$22,128
$48,001 – $75,000
$23,828
$75,001 – $110,000
$26,078
Over $110,000
$29,923
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$3,31910%percentile
$7,68925%percentile
$13,523Medianpercentile
$29,33175%percentile
$38,42090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,500
↓ $4,023
No Pell $9,500
↓ $4,023
Dependent students $8,000
↓ $5,523
Independent students $9,500
↓ $4,023
Female students $9,500
↓ $4,023
Male students $9,500
↓ $4,023
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, close to what completers borrow ($13,523) but without the degree to show for it.
Graduation Rate & Retention
34% of students who start here finish within six years, and 73% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
34%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
73%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
American College of Healthcare Sciences has not reported graduate earnings. Where that figure is missing, the programs section below is the better guide, since pay follows the field you study more closely than the college you attend.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
—
Earning > $25K
—
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 759 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 44% are the first in their family to go to college, and 74% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
759
Part-Time
74%
First-Generation
44%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 50.6%384
Black 21.6%164
Hispanic 12.0%91
Other 9.1%69
Asian 0.8%6
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at American College of Healthcare Sciences. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large CityPortland, Oregon
Housing
Commuter campusOnline-only, no physical campus
Adult Learners
89%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semesterscheduling structure
Designation
Online-only institution
What You Can Study
American College of Healthcare Sciences offers
a focused set of programs:
9 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.
Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$42,793
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
21 instructional faculty across 3 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
10
48%
$55,049
Associate Professors
2
10%
$38,436
Assistant Professors
9
43%
$26,529
Pros & Cons of American College of Healthcare Sciences
No college is right for everyone. Here is where American College of Healthcare Sciences is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
Modest first-year retention
Best for:
Based on the data, American College of Healthcare Sciences is a fit for
working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about American College of Healthcare Sciences
The questions families ask most about American College of Healthcare Sciences, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is American College of Healthcare Sciences hard to get into?
Admissions at American College of Healthcare Sciences are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 53.5%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at American College of Healthcare Sciences?
53.5% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does American College of Healthcare Sciences cost?
Budget around $23,782 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is American College of Healthcare Sciences known for?
Mostly Health Sciences, Alternative Medicine, Alternative Medicine. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is American College of Healthcare Sciences accredited?
Yes. American College of Healthcare Sciences is accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission.
How many students attend American College of Healthcare Sciences?
759 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at American College of Healthcare Sciences?
34% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is American College of Healthcare Sciences a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is American College of Healthcare Sciences located?
American College of Healthcare Sciences is located in Portland, Oregon.
What programs does American College of Healthcare Sciences offer?
9 different programs, most commonly Health Sciences, Alternative Medicine, Alternative Medicine. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at American College of Healthcare Sciences?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Oregon
Other colleges in Oregon share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.