American Public University System is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Charles Town, West Virginia. It enrolls 40,074 students (a very large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
81/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes86
Value71
Affordability45
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
American Public University System does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.
Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $9,597 a year on average, it sits well below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$8,400
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,120
Books & Supplies
$0
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,864
Total Cost of Attendance
$18,768
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$9,335
$30,001 – $48,000
$9,766
$48,001 – $75,000
$8,951
$75,001 – $110,000
$15,559
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$1,64010%percentile
$3,01125%percentile
$21,743Medianpercentile
$16,19875%percentile
$30,62090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $10,617
↓ $11,126
No Pell $9,500
↓ $12,243
Dependent students $7,475
↓ $14,268
Independent students $10,500
↓ $11,243
Female students $11,270
↓ $10,473
Male students $9,500
↓ $12,243
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,170, less than completers ($21,743), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
15% of students who start here finish within six years, and 96% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
15%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
96%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $44,409 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$44,409
Earning > $25K
65%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
24.4 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 81% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 40,074 students, a sprawling student community. Worth knowing: 53% are the first in their family to go to college, and 91% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
40,074
Part-Time
91%
First-Generation
53%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 44.2%17,725
Hispanic 20.0%8,027
Black 17.8%7,141
Other 6.3%2,533
Asian 3.0%1,206
International 1.2%469
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at American Public University System. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
American Public University System offers
an extensive catalog of programs:
112 distinct programs across
23 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 25 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.
Student : Faculty
25:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$59,151
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
341 instructional faculty across 4 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
58
17%
$74,115
Associate Professors
151
44%
$62,095
Assistant Professors
56
16%
$51,039
Instructors
76
22%
$47,857
Pros & Cons of American Public University System
No college is right for everyone. Here is where American Public University System is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for:
Based on the data, American Public University System is a fit for
families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who want a large campus with breadth and variety.
Frequently Asked Questions about American Public University System
The questions families ask most about American Public University System, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
How much does American Public University System cost?
Budget around $9,597 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is American Public University System worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $44,409 a year against a net price of $9,597, about 4.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is American Public University System known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Liberal Arts, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do American Public University System graduates earn?
About $44,409 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is American Public University System accredited?
Yes. American Public University System is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend American Public University System?
40,074 students. Large, so expect big lectures and more independence in finding your own footing. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at American Public University System?
15% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is American Public University System a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is American Public University System located?
American Public University System is located in Charles Town, West Virginia.
What programs does American Public University System offer?
112 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Liberal Arts, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at American Public University System?
25 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in West Virginia
Other colleges in West Virginia share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.