Private For-Profit Associate Strong 76/100

ATA College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

El Cajon, California

About ATA College

Thinking about ATA College, a college in California where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

ATA College is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in El Cajon, California. It enrolls 80 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
—
Net Price
$19,157
Median Earnings (10yr)
$35,017
Enrollment
80
Student : Faculty
18:1

Accreditor Council on Occupational Education
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
76/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 96
Value 24
Affordability 63
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, ATA College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $19,157 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$19,157
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
86%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
75%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $18,739
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $18,934
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $20,138

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,069
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$5,500
Median percentile
$6,600
75% percentile
$8,200
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Dependent students $5,500 —
Independent students $6,145 ↑ $645
Female students $5,500 —
Male students $5,500 —
Dependent students: 24.3% (1,336 students)Independent students: 27.1% (1,492 students)Female students: 24.3% (1,336 students)Male students: 24.3% (1,336 students)Overall Median$5,500
What this means: Aid reaches the majority of students: 86% receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the actual cost to you is likely far below the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

90% come back after first year. Students who arrive tend to stay, which is usually a good sign. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
90%
Returning for their second year
What this means: High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $35,017 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$35,017
Earning > $25K
60%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$34,500$35,500$36,500$37,000$38,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$1.8 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 80 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 67% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
80
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
67%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 41.3% 33
White 32.5% 26
Black 23.8% 19
Asian 1.3% 1
Other 1.3% 1
Hispanic: 41.3% (33 students)White: 32.5% (26 students)Black: 23.8% (19 students)Asian: 1.3% (1 students)Other: 1.3% (1 students)Total80

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at ATA College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb El Cajon, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
65% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

ATA College offers a focused set of programs: 4 distinct programs across 4 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 18 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
18:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$56,250
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of ATA College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where ATA College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong first-year retention
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, ATA College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about ATA College

The questions families ask most about ATA College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is ATA College hard to get into?
Not especially. ATA College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at ATA College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does ATA College cost?
Budget around $19,157 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is ATA College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $35,017 a year against a net price of $19,157, about 1.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is ATA College known for?
Mostly Heating, Medical Assisting, Computer Engineering Tech. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do ATA College graduates earn?
About $35,017 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is ATA College accredited?
Yes. ATA College is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
How many students attend ATA College?
80 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is ATA College a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is ATA College located?
ATA College is located in El Cajon, California.
What programs does ATA College offer?
4 different programs, most commonly Heating, Medical Assisting, Computer Engineering Tech. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at ATA College?
18 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.