Public Bachelor's Good 63/100

Austin Community College District

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Austin, Texas

About Austin Community College District

Thinking about Austin Community College District, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Austin Community College District is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Austin, Texas. It enrolls 30,189 students (a very large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
16.3%
Net Price
$6,390
Median Earnings (10yr)
$43,177
Enrollment
30,189
Student : Faculty
18:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
63/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 17
Value 85
Affordability 52
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Austin Community College District does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $6,390 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$6,390
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
24%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
13%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,550
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$10,590
Room & Board (off-campus)
$18,240
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,408
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,190

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $3,789
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $4,388
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $7,759
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $11,356
  • Over $110,000
    $14,889

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$2,000
25% percentile
$10,499
Median percentile
$7,250
75% percentile
$13,458
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,000 ↓ $3,499
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $4,999
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $4,999
Independent students $9,313 ↓ $1,186
Female students $6,275 ↓ $4,224
Male students $5,950 ↓ $4,549
Pell recipients: 17.7% (1,859 students)No Pell: 13.9% (1,460 students)Dependent students: 13.9% (1,460 students)Independent students: 23.6% (2,473 students)Female students: 15.9% (1,666 students)Male students: 15.0% (1,580 students)Overall Median$10,499
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($10,499), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

16% of students who start here finish within six years. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
16%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $43,177 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$43,177
Earning > $25K
68%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$38,000$39,000$41,000$42,000$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$35,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$47,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$36,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$43,100

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$50,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,200, about 24% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.6 pts across 6 years
62.3%1yr68.3%3yr73.1%5yr78.8%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 79% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 30,189 students, a sprawling student community. Worth knowing: 45% are the first in their family to go to college, and 67% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
30,189
Part-Time
67%
First-Generation
45%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 43.6% 13,153
White 34.3% 10,358
Black 9.7% 2,922
Asian 6.2% 1,857
Other 4.3% 1,286
International 1.6% 486
Hispanic: 43.6% (13,153 students)White: 34.3% (10,358 students)Black: 9.7% (2,922 students)Asian: 6.2% (1,857 students)Other: 4.3% (1,286 students)International: 1.6% (486 students)Total30,189

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Austin Community College District. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Austin, Texas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
31% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Austin Community College District offers an extensive catalog of programs: 116 distinct programs across 33 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
16 Programs
12 Programs
5 Programs
10 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 18 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
18:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$7,359
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$14M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$78,715
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

648 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 341 53% $83,563
Associate Professors 183 28% $75,959
Assistant Professors 65 10% $70,078
Instructors 4 1% $77,884
No Rank 55 8% $68,097

Pros & Cons of Austin Community College District

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Austin Community College District is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Wide variety of programs and student life
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Large institutional setting can feel impersonal
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Austin Community College District is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who want a large campus with breadth and variety.

Frequently Asked Questions about Austin Community College District

The questions families ask most about Austin Community College District, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Austin Community College District cost?
Budget around $6,390 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Austin Community College District worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $43,177 a year against a net price of $6,390, about 6.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Austin Community College District known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Austin Community College District graduates earn?
About $43,177 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Austin Community College District accredited?
Yes. Austin Community College District is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Austin Community College District?
30,189 students. Large, so expect big lectures and more independence in finding your own footing. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Austin Community College District?
16% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Austin Community College District a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Austin Community College District located?
Austin Community College District is located in Austin, Texas.
What programs does Austin Community College District offer?
116 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Austin Community College District?
18 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.