Private For-Profit Associate Good 62/100

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Duluth, Georgia

About Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta

Thinking about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta, a college in Georgia where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Duluth, Georgia. It enrolls 824 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
56.4%
Net Price
$27,365
Median Earnings (10yr)
$48,191
Enrollment
824
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
62/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 63
Value 23
Affordability 44
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $27,365 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$27,365
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
56%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
42%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$16,657
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,195
Books & Supplies
$1,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$11,488
Total Cost of Attendance
$32,167

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $26,379
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $28,228
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $30,839
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $30,097

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,448
10% percentile
$6,103
25% percentile
$31,500
Median percentile
$20,000
75% percentile
$26,250
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $20,500 ↓ $11,000
No Pell $20,500 ↓ $11,000
Dependent students $19,500 ↓ $12,000
Independent students $30,472 ↓ $1,028
Female students $20,875 ↓ $10,625
Male students $20,500 ↓ $11,000
Pell recipients: 15.5% (4,879 students)No Pell: 15.5% (4,879 students)Dependent students: 14.7% (4,641 students)Independent students: 23.0% (7,253 students)Female students: 15.8% (4,968 students)Male students: 15.5% (4,879 students)Overall Median$31,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($31,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

56% of students who start here finish within six years, and 75% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
56%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
75%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $48,191 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$48,191
Earning > $25K
68%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$45,500$46,000$47,000$48,000$48,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 27.0 pts across 6 years
19.3%1yr25.8%3yr28.2%5yr46.3%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 46% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 824 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 44% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
824
Part-Time
25%
First-Generation
44%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 55.2% 455
White 18.2% 150
Hispanic 14.3% 118
Other 7.5% 62
Asian 4.6% 38
International 0.1% 1
Black: 55.2% (455 students)White: 18.2% (150 students)Hispanic: 14.3% (118 students)Other: 7.5% (62 students)Asian: 4.6% (38 students)International: 0.1% (1 students)Total824

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Duluth, Georgia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
50% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Precision Production graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta offers a focused set of programs: 3 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$58,500
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta

The questions families ask most about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta hard to get into?
Not especially. Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta cost?
Budget around $27,365 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $48,191 a year against a net price of $27,365, about 1.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta known for?
Mostly Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance, Precision Metal Working. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta graduates earn?
About $48,191 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta accredited?
Yes. Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta?
824 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta?
56% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta located?
Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta is located in Duluth, Georgia.
What programs does Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta offer?
3 different programs, most commonly Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance, Precision Metal Working. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.