Private For-Profit Certificate Good 63/100

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Norfolk, Virginia

About Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk

Thinking about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk, a college in Virginia where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in Norfolk, Virginia. It enrolls 270 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
48.7%
Net Price
$23,046
Median Earnings (10yr)
$44,173
Enrollment
270
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
63/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 75
Value 26
Affordability 22
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $23,046 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$23,046
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
26%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
17%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$16,757
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,195
Books & Supplies
$1,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$11,488
Total Cost of Attendance
$28,427

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $22,059
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $23,830
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $28,427
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $28,427
  • Over $110,000
    $28,427

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$5,343
25% percentile
$29,375
Median percentile
$20,000
75% percentile
$20,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $19,500 ↓ $9,875
No Pell $18,717 ↓ $10,658
Dependent students $16,353 ↓ $13,022
Independent students $26,250 ↓ $3,125
Female students $24,452 ↓ $4,923
Male students $19,500 ↓ $9,875
Pell recipients: 15.6% (4,591 students)No Pell: 15.0% (4,407 students)Dependent students: 13.1% (3,850 students)Independent students: 21.0% (6,180 students)Female students: 19.6% (5,757 students)Male students: 15.6% (4,591 students)Overall Median$29,375
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,374, less than completers ($29,375), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

49% of students who start here finish within six years, and 70% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
49%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
70%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $44,173 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$44,173
Earning > $25K
69%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$42,500$43,000$43,500$44,000$44,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 34.6 pts across 6 years
14%1yr20.3%3yr29.9%5yr48.6%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 49% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 270 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 51% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
270
Part-Time
24%
First-Generation
51%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 47.8% 129
Black 31.5% 85
Hispanic 9.3% 25
Other 8.2% 22
Asian 3.0% 8
White: 47.8% (129 students)Black: 31.5% (85 students)Hispanic: 9.3% (25 students)Other: 8.2% (22 students)Asian: 3.0% (8 students)Total270

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Norfolk, Virginia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
52% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk

The questions families ask most about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk hard to get into?
Not especially. Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk cost?
Budget around $23,046 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $44,173 a year against a net price of $23,046, about 1.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk known for?
Mostly Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk graduates earn?
About $44,173 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk accredited?
Yes. Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk?
270 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk?
49% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk located?
Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk is located in Norfolk, Virginia.
What programs does Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.