Private For-Profit Certificate Good 63/100

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

About Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia

Thinking about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia, a college in Pennsylvania where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 385 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
47%
Net Price
$25,437
Median Earnings (10yr)
$42,785
Enrollment
385
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
63/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 75
Value 22
Affordability 30
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $25,437 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$25,437
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
33%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
23%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$16,757
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,195
Books & Supplies
$1,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$11,488
Total Cost of Attendance
$30,830

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $23,358
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $29,659
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $30,147
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $29,156
  • Over $110,000
    $27,132

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$32,397
Median percentile
$20,000
75% percentile
$20,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $23,250 ↓ $9,147
No Pell $19,500 ↓ $12,897
Dependent students $19,500 ↓ $12,897
Independent students $29,686 ↓ $2,711
Female students $30,551 ↓ $1,846
Male students $20,279 ↓ $12,118
Pell recipients: 16.3% (5,276 students)No Pell: 13.7% (4,425 students)Dependent students: 13.7% (4,425 students)Independent students: 20.8% (6,736 students)Female students: 21.4% (6,933 students)Male students: 14.2% (4,602 students)Overall Median$32,397
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,902, less than completers ($32,397), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

47% of students who start here finish within six years, and 76% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
47%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
76%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $42,785 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$42,785
Earning > $25K
64%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$42,000$44,000$45,000$47,000$49,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 25.8 pts across 6 years
25.6%1yr37.2%3yr45.4%5yr51.3%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 51% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 385 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 57% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
385
Part-Time
38%
First-Generation
57%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 42.9% 165
White 23.1% 89
Hispanic 22.9% 88
Other 5.5% 21
Asian 5.2% 20
International 0.5% 2
Black: 42.9% (165 students)White: 23.1% (89 students)Hispanic: 22.9% (88 students)Other: 5.5% (21 students)Asian: 5.2% (20 students)International: 0.5% (2 students)Total385

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
46% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia

The questions families ask most about Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia hard to get into?
Not especially. Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia cost?
Budget around $25,437 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $42,785 a year against a net price of $25,437, about 1.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia known for?
Mostly Vehicle Maintenance, Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia graduates earn?
About $42,785 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia accredited?
Yes. Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia?
385 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia?
47% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia located?
Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia is located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Vehicle Maintenance, Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Philadelphia?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.