Private Nonprofit Graduate Average 36/100

Bastyr University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Kenmore, Washington

About Bastyr University

Thinking about Bastyr University, a college in Washington where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Bastyr University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Kenmore, Washington. It enrolls 39 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
86.2%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$49,364
Enrollment
39
Student : Faculty
9:1

Accreditor Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Average
36/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes —
Value —
Affordability 8
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Bastyr University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Bastyr University has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
14%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
17%
Borrowing to attend

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,500
10% percentile
$12,105
25% percentile
$13,817
Median percentile
$25,000
75% percentile
$30,499
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $24,954 ↑ $11,137
No Pell $11,084 ↓ $2,733
Dependent students $15,000 ↑ $1,183
Independent students $12,500 ↓ $1,317
Female students $12,500 ↓ $1,317
Male students $17,938 ↑ $4,121
Pell recipients: 26.6% (3,669 students)No Pell: 11.8% (1,630 students)Dependent students: 16.0% (2,205 students)Independent students: 13.3% (1,838 students)Female students: 13.3% (1,838 students)Male students: 19.1% (2,637 students)Overall Median$13,817
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,334, less than completers ($13,817), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

86% of students who start here finish within six years. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
86%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $49,364 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$49,364
Earning > $25K
68%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$46,500$47,500$48,500$50,000$51,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 23.8 pts across 6 years
53.7%1yr61.9%3yr68.8%5yr77.4%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 77% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 39 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
39
Part-Time
23%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 64.1% 25
Other 23.1% 9
Black 7.7% 3
Asian 5.1% 2
White: 64.1% (25 students)Other: 23.1% (9 students)Black: 7.7% (3 students)Asian: 5.1% (2 students)Total39

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Bastyr University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Kenmore, Washington
Housing
Strongly residential 132 beds for 39 students
Adult Learners
59% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Psychology graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Bastyr University offers a varied set of programs: 16 distinct programs across 6 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
4 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 9 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
9:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$20M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$63,176
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

36 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 10 28% $76,159
Associate Professors 17 47% $61,108
Assistant Professors 9 25% $52,655

Pros & Cons of Bastyr University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Bastyr University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Bastyr University is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Bastyr University

The questions families ask most about Bastyr University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

What is Bastyr University known for?
Mostly Alternative Medicine, Counseling Psychology, Alternative Medicine. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Bastyr University graduates earn?
About $49,364 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Bastyr University accredited?
Yes. Bastyr University is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
How many students attend Bastyr University?
39 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Bastyr University?
86% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Bastyr University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Bastyr University located?
Bastyr University is located in Kenmore, Washington.
What programs does Bastyr University offer?
16 different programs, most commonly Alternative Medicine, Counseling Psychology, Alternative Medicine. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Bastyr University?
9 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.