Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 58/100

Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Virginia Beach, Virginia

About Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach

Thinking about Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach, a college in Virginia where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Virginia Beach, Virginia. It enrolls 1,709 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
23%
Net Price
$12,038
Median Earnings (10yr)
$32,568
Enrollment
1,709
Student : Faculty
19:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
58/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 27
Value 41
Affordability 68
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $12,038 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$12,038
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
65%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
77%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$18,489
Room & Board (off-campus)
$3,500
Books & Supplies
$1,800
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,480
Total Cost of Attendance
$23,803

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $11,808
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $20,103
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $13,803
  • Over $110,000
    $19,060

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$21,549
Median percentile
$21,331
75% percentile
$31,573
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,500 ↓ $12,049
No Pell $9,782 ↓ $11,767
Dependent students $7,500 ↓ $14,049
Independent students $11,946 ↓ $9,603
Female students $10,929 ↓ $10,620
Male students $7,816 ↓ $13,733
Pell recipients: 16.5% (3,562 students)No Pell: 17.0% (3,668 students)Dependent students: 13.0% (2,812 students)Independent students: 20.8% (4,479 students)Female students: 19.0% (4,098 students)Male students: 13.6% (2,931 students)Overall Median$21,549
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,155, less than completers ($21,549), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

23% of students who start here finish within six years, and 54% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
23%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
54%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,568 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,568
Earning > $25K
54%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$27,000$29,000$30,000$32,000$33,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$25,400

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$30,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$23,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$32,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$40,900

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $5,100, about 17% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 22.3 pts across 6 years
24.4%1yr30.4%3yr38.3%5yr46.7%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 47% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,709 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 54% are the first in their family to go to college, and 48% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
1,709
Part-Time
48%
First-Generation
54%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 60.4% 1,033
White 20.6% 352
Hispanic 6.7% 114
Other 5.7% 98
Asian 1.9% 33
International 0.1% 1
Black: 60.4% (1,033 students)White: 20.6% (352 students)Hispanic: 6.7% (114 students)Other: 5.7% (98 students)Asian: 1.9% (33 students)International: 0.1% (1 students)Total1,709

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Virginia Beach, Virginia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
61% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Predominantly Black Institution (PBI)
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach offers a varied set of programs: 23 distinct programs across 7 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

9 Programs
7 Programs
2 Programs
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 19 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
19:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$8.3M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$54,838
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

36 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 36 100% $54,838

Pros & Cons of Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach

The questions families ask most about Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach cost?
Budget around $12,038 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,568 a year against a net price of $12,038, about 2.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach known for?
Mostly Nursing, Practical Nursing, Medical Assisting. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach graduates earn?
About $32,568 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach accredited?
Yes. Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach?
1,709 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach?
23% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach located?
Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach is located in Virginia Beach, Virginia.
What programs does Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach offer?
23 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Practical Nursing, Medical Assisting. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach?
19 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.