California Miramar University is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in San Diego, California. It enrolls 135 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
72/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes31
Value—
Affordability83
Selectivity96
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
California Miramar University admits 18.5% of applicants, which makes it genuinely competitive, so your application needs to be strong.
Acceptance Rate
18.5%
Very Selective
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether California Miramar University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Becoming less selective ↑
34.1 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $12,480 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$12,442
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,086
Books & Supplies
$1,062
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,930
Total Cost of Attendance
$19,067
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$9,131
$30,001 – $48,000
$15,369
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,425
$75,001 – $110,000
$16,995
Over $110,000
$17,467
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,75025%percentile
$31,000Medianpercentile
$5,50075%percentile
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($31,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
70% come back after first year. A sizeable share do not return for year two. Worth asking why. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
70%
Returning for their second year
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 135 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 48% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
135
Part-Time
3%
First-Generation
48%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 22.2%30
Black 17.8%24
International 17.8%24
White 14.1%19
Other 11.1%15
Asian 4.4%6
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at California Miramar University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
California Miramar University offers
a focused set of programs:
5 distinct programs across
2 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.
Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Pros & Cons of California Miramar University
No college is right for everyone. Here is where California Miramar University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Highly competitive admissions, many strong applicants are rejected
Class sizes are on the higher side
Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
Modest first-year retention
Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for:
Based on the data, California Miramar University is a fit for
students seeking a highly selective peer group; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about California Miramar University
The questions families ask most about California Miramar University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is California Miramar University hard to get into?
California Miramar University is highly selective. Its acceptance rate is 18.5%, so admitted students generally have strong grades, competitive test scores, and a well-rounded application.
What is the acceptance rate at California Miramar University?
18.5% of applicants are admitted. Fewer than a third of applicants get in, so treat it as a stretch rather than a safe bet. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does California Miramar University cost?
Budget around $12,480 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is California Miramar University known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Business Administration, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is California Miramar University accredited?
Yes. California Miramar University is accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission.
How many students attend California Miramar University?
135 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is California Miramar University a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is California Miramar University located?
California Miramar University is located in San Diego, California.
What programs does California Miramar University offer?
5 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Business Administration, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at California Miramar University?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in California
Other colleges in California share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Business Administration
Mechanical Engineering
Computer Science
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.