Carnegie Institute is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in Troy, Michigan. It enrolls 93 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAccrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic CalendarQuarter
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
64/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes54
Value31
Affordability57
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
As a two-year college, Carnegie Institute admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.
Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $17,042 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$15,645
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,909
Books & Supplies
$185
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,050
Total Cost of Attendance
$21,852
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
$30,001 – $48,000
$14,198
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,921
Over $110,000
$21,852
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,92710%percentile
$4,51025%percentile
$9,336Medianpercentile
$16,65375%percentile
$21,63390%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,439
↓ $2,897
No Pell $17,785
↑ $8,449
Dependent students $5,502
↓ $3,834
Independent students $9,500
↑ $164
Female students $7,149
↓ $2,187
Male students $15,833
↑ $6,497
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,306, less than completers ($9,336), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
84% of students who start here finish within six years, and 67% come back after first year. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
84%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
67%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $38,244 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$38,244
Earning > $25K
64%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Stable ↑
3.1 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Moderate. Only 67% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 93 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 54% are the first in their family to go to college, and 72% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
93
Part-Time
72%
First-Generation
54%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 67.7%63
Black 14.0%13
Asian 8.6%8
Hispanic 5.4%5
Other 4.3%4
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Carnegie Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Small CityTroy, Michigan
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
73%of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Quarterscheduling structure
What You Can Study
Carnegie Institute offers
a focused set of programs:
3 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for:
Based on the data, Carnegie Institute is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Carnegie Institute
The questions families ask most about Carnegie Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Carnegie Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Carnegie Institute admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Carnegie Institute?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Carnegie Institute cost?
Budget around $17,042 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Carnegie Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $38,244 a year against a net price of $17,042, about 2.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Carnegie Institute known for?
Mostly Allied Health Diagnostic, Medical Assisting, Massage Therapy. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Carnegie Institute graduates earn?
About $38,244 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Carnegie Institute accredited?
Yes. Carnegie Institute is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Carnegie Institute?
93 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Carnegie Institute?
84% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Carnegie Institute a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Carnegie Institute located?
Carnegie Institute is located in Troy, Michigan.
What programs does Carnegie Institute offer?
3 different programs, most commonly Allied Health Diagnostic, Medical Assisting, Massage Therapy. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Carnegie Institute?
4 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Michigan
Other colleges in Michigan share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.