Private For-Profit Certificate Good 68/100

Charleston School of Beauty Culture

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Charleston, West Virginia

About Charleston School of Beauty Culture

Thinking about Charleston School of Beauty Culture, a college in West Virginia where more students graduate in Personal Services than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Charleston School of Beauty Culture is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in Charleston, West Virginia. It enrolls 46 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
54.2%
Net Price
$11,638
Median Earnings (10yr)
$17,827
Enrollment
46
Student : Faculty
8:1

Accreditor National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
68/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 73
Value 18
Affordability 65
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Charleston School of Beauty Culture admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,638 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,638
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
63%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
46%
Borrowing to attend

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,600
10% percentile
$3,666
25% percentile
$6,128
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile
$11,054
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Dependent students $3,666 ↓ $2,462
Independent students $6,333 ↑ $205
Female students $5,500 ↓ $628
Male students $4,750 ↓ $1,378
Dependent students: 18.1% (1,109 students)Independent students: 31.3% (1,917 students)Female students: 27.2% (1,664 students)Male students: 23.5% (1,438 students)Overall Median$6,128
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, close to what completers borrow ($6,128) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

54% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
54%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $17,827 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$17,827
Earning > $25K
27%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$16,500$17,500$18,500$19,500$20,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$1.5 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 46 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 61% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
46
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
61%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 71.7% 33
Black 17.4% 8
Other 10.9% 5
White: 71.7% (33 students)Black: 17.4% (8 students)Other: 10.9% (5 students)Total46

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Charleston School of Beauty Culture. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Charleston, West Virginia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
37% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Charleston School of Beauty Culture offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 8 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Charleston School of Beauty Culture

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Charleston School of Beauty Culture is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Charleston School of Beauty Culture is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Charleston School of Beauty Culture

The questions families ask most about Charleston School of Beauty Culture, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Charleston School of Beauty Culture hard to get into?
Not especially. Charleston School of Beauty Culture admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Charleston School of Beauty Culture?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Charleston School of Beauty Culture cost?
Budget around $11,638 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Charleston School of Beauty Culture worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $17,827 a year against a net price of $11,638, about 1.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Charleston School of Beauty Culture known for?
Mostly Cosmetology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Charleston School of Beauty Culture graduates earn?
About $17,827 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Charleston School of Beauty Culture accredited?
Yes. Charleston School of Beauty Culture is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.
How many students attend Charleston School of Beauty Culture?
46 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Charleston School of Beauty Culture?
54% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Charleston School of Beauty Culture a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Charleston School of Beauty Culture located?
Charleston School of Beauty Culture is located in Charleston, West Virginia.
What programs does Charleston School of Beauty Culture offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Cosmetology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Charleston School of Beauty Culture?
8 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.