Public Associate Good 58/100

City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Chicago, Illinois

About City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College

Thinking about City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College, a college in Illinois where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Chicago, Illinois. It enrolls 6,409 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
13.7%
Net Price
$7,220
Median Earnings (10yr)
$32,427
Enrollment
6,409
Student : Faculty
24:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
58/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 11
Value 61
Affordability 64
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $7,220 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$7,220
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
42%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
3%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,590
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$15,150
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,128
Books & Supplies
$1,920
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,504
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,355

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $6,712
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $6,871
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $8,591
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $10,176
  • Over $110,000
    $14,355

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$2,250
25% percentile
$8,375
Median percentile
$7,000
75% percentile
$11,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,000 ↓ $2,375
No Pell $6,500 ↓ $1,875
Dependent students $4,500 ↓ $3,875
Independent students $7,150 ↓ $1,225
Female students $6,080 ↓ $2,295
Male students $6,488 ↓ $1,887
Pell recipients: 16.3% (1,369 students)No Pell: 17.7% (1,483 students)Dependent students: 12.3% (1,026 students)Independent students: 19.5% (1,631 students)Female students: 16.6% (1,387 students)Male students: 17.7% (1,480 students)Overall Median$8,375
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,100, less than completers ($8,375), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

14% of students who start here finish within six years, and 56% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
14%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
56%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,427 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,427
Earning > $25K
53%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$26,000$28,000$30,000$31,000$33,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$28,700

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$33,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.2 pts across 6 years
43.2%1yr47.3%3yr60.8%5yr59.4%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 59% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 6,409 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college, and 62% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
6,409
Part-Time
62%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 50.8% 3,255
Black 37.1% 2,375
White 4.8% 310
Other 3.1% 201
Asian 2.8% 181
International 1.3% 82
Hispanic: 50.8% (3,255 students)Black: 37.1% (2,375 students)White: 4.8% (310 students)Other: 3.1% (201 students)Asian: 2.8% (181 students)International: 1.3% (82 students)Total6,409

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Chicago, Illinois
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
44% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College offers a varied set of programs: 19 distinct programs across 6 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

11 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 24 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
24:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,950
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$101,617
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

125 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 7 6% $143,793
Associate Professors 17 14% $116,160
Assistant Professors 37 30% $102,051
Instructors 64 51% $92,890

Pros & Cons of City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College

The questions families ask most about City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College hard to get into?
Not especially. City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College cost?
Budget around $7,220 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,427 a year against a net price of $7,220, about 4.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College known for?
Mostly Practical Nursing, Liberal Arts, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College graduates earn?
About $32,427 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College accredited?
Yes. City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College?
6,409 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College?
14% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College located?
City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College is located in Chicago, Illinois.
What programs does City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College offer?
19 different programs, most commonly Practical Nursing, Liberal Arts, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College?
24 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.