Public Associate Strong 77/100

Coahoma Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Clarksdale, Mississippi

About Coahoma Community College

Thinking about Coahoma Community College, a college in Mississippi where more students graduate in Personal Services than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Coahoma Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Clarksdale, Mississippi. It enrolls 1,144 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
26.7%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$24,289
Enrollment
1,144
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
77/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 56
Value —
Affordability 88
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Coahoma Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Coahoma Community College has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
57%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$3,490
Room & Board (on-campus)
$4,920
Room & Board (off-campus)
$6,000
Books & Supplies
$900
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,500
Total Cost of Attendance
$9,444

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $-145
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $-1,171
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $734
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $674
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 57% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

27% of students who start here finish within six years, and 73% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
27%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
73%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $24,289 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$24,289
Earning > $25K
39%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$21,000$22,000$23,000$24,000$24,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$21,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$25,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,144 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 42% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,144
Part-Time
14%
First-Generation
42%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 94.3% 1,079
White 3.4% 39
Hispanic 0.9% 10
Other 0.7% 8
Asian 0.3% 3
International 0.1% 1
Black: 94.3% (1,079 students)White: 3.4% (39 students)Hispanic: 0.9% (10 students)Other: 0.7% (8 students)Asian: 0.3% (3 students)International: 0.1% (1 students)Total1,144

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Coahoma Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Clarksdale, Mississippi
Housing
Partly residential 387 beds available
Adult Learners
21% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Historically Black College / University (HBCU)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Coahoma Community College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 45 distinct programs across 19 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
1 Program
8 Programs
8 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$10,513
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$3.6M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$49,830
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

69 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 69 100% $49,830

Pros & Cons of Coahoma Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Coahoma Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Coahoma Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Coahoma Community College

The questions families ask most about Coahoma Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Coahoma Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Coahoma Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Coahoma Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
What is Coahoma Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Cosmetology, Human Development. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Coahoma Community College graduates earn?
About $24,289 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Coahoma Community College accredited?
Yes. Coahoma Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Coahoma Community College?
1,144 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Coahoma Community College?
27% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Coahoma Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Coahoma Community College located?
Coahoma Community College is located in Clarksdale, Mississippi.
What programs does Coahoma Community College offer?
45 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Cosmetology, Human Development. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Coahoma Community College?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.