Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 45/100

Coker University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Hartsville, South Carolina

About Coker University

Thinking about Coker University, a college in South Carolina where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Coker University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Hartsville, South Carolina. It enrolls 840 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
94%
Graduation
45.5%
Net Price
$20,286
Median Earnings (10yr)
$40,117
Enrollment
840
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
45/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 17
Value 19
Affordability 41
Selectivity 12

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Coker University admits 94% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
94%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Coker University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 33.9 pts since 2019
63.3%201993.1%202097.6%202194.1%202297.2%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $20,286 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$20,286
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
26%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
42%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$33,416
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,114
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,323
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,600
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,600
Total Cost of Attendance
$45,805

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $16,789
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $15,138
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $18,227
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $24,421
  • Over $110,000
    $24,160

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,750
10% percentile
$7,500
25% percentile
$26,000
Median percentile
$30,250
75% percentile
$43,750
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $16,000 ↓ $10,000
No Pell $12,500 ↓ $13,500
Dependent students $12,342 ↓ $13,658
Independent students $23,052 ↓ $2,948
Female students $17,250 ↓ $8,750
Male students $12,000 ↓ $14,000
Pell recipients: 17.2% (4,466 students)No Pell: 13.4% (3,489 students)Dependent students: 13.3% (3,445 students)Independent students: 24.7% (6,435 students)Female students: 18.5% (4,815 students)Male students: 12.9% (3,350 students)Overall Median$26,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($26,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

45% of students who start here finish within six years, and 66% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
45%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
66%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $40,117 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$40,117
Earning > $25K
66%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$36,000$37,500$38,500$39,500$40,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$31,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$48,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$30,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$37,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$46,800

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $16,600, about 34% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 22.4 pts across 6 years
41.5%1yr47.1%3yr59.3%5yr63.9%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 64% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 840 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 38% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
840
Part-Time
4%
First-Generation
38%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 48.0% 403
Black 19.5% 164
Other 8.9% 75
International 7.4% 62
Asian 1.1% 9
Hispanic 0.5% 4
White: 48.0% (403 students)Black: 19.5% (164 students)Other: 8.9% (75 students)International: 7.4% (62 students)Asian: 1.1% (9 students)Hispanic: 0.5% (4 students)Total840

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Coker University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Hartsville, South Carolina
Housing
Strongly residential 603 beds for 840 students
Adult Learners
12% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Recreation & Fitness graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Coker University offers a varied set of programs: 26 distinct programs across 13 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
5 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$62M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$58,993
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

64 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 15 23% $78,125
Associate Professors 17 27% $55,878
Assistant Professors 32 50% $51,679

Pros & Cons of Coker University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Coker University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, Coker University is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Coker University

The questions families ask most about Coker University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Coker University hard to get into?
Not especially. Coker University admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 94%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Coker University?
94% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Coker University cost?
Budget around $20,286 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Coker University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $40,117 a year against a net price of $20,286, about 2.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Coker University known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Biology, Kinesiology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Coker University graduates earn?
About $40,117 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Coker University accredited?
Yes. Coker University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Coker University?
840 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Coker University?
45% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Coker University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Coker University located?
Coker University is located in Hartsville, South Carolina.
What programs does Coker University offer?
26 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Biology, Kinesiology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Coker University?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.