Public Associate Good 58/100

College of Alameda

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Alameda, California

About College of Alameda

Thinking about College of Alameda, a college in California where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

College of Alameda is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Alameda, California. It enrolls 4,487 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
11.1%
Net Price
$8,496
Median Earnings (10yr)
$42,563
Enrollment
4,487
Student : Faculty
35:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
58/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 25
Value 68
Affordability 33
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, College of Alameda admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $8,496 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$8,496
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
10%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
1%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$1,258
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$9,898
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,820
Books & Supplies
$1,492
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,986
Total Cost of Attendance
$18,185

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,947
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $6,829
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $11,225
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $15,603

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,000
10% percentile
$4,000
25% percentile
$10,500
75% percentile
$15,404
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Dependent students $3,855 —
Independent students $9,500 —
Female students $9,500 —
Male students $9,500 —
Dependent students: 11.9%Independent students: 29.4%Female students: 29.4%Male students: 29.4%Overall Median—
What this means: 10% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

11% of students who start here finish within six years, and 59% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
11%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
59%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $42,563 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$42,563
Earning > $25K
64%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$33,000$36,000$39,000$41,000$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$38,700

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$42,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

What this means: Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$5.0 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 4,487 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college, and 85% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
4,487
Part-Time
85%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 27.6% 1,238
Asian 23.9% 1,071
Black 18.7% 840
White 16.6% 744
Other 7.3% 328
International 0.7% 30
Hispanic: 27.6% (1,238 students)Asian: 23.9% (1,071 students)Black: 18.7% (840 students)White: 16.6% (744 students)Other: 7.3% (328 students)International: 0.7% (30 students)Total4,487

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at College of Alameda. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Alameda, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
42% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Mechanics & Repair graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

College of Alameda offers a varied set of programs: 23 distinct programs across 13 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
4 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 35 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
35:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$2,905
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$104,622
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

66 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 66 100% $104,622

Pros & Cons of College of Alameda

No college is right for everyone. Here is where College of Alameda is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, College of Alameda is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about College of Alameda

The questions families ask most about College of Alameda, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is College of Alameda hard to get into?
Not especially. College of Alameda admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at College of Alameda?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does College of Alameda cost?
Budget around $8,496 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is College of Alameda worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $42,563 a year against a net price of $8,496, about 5.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is College of Alameda known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do College of Alameda graduates earn?
About $42,563 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is College of Alameda accredited?
Yes. College of Alameda is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend College of Alameda?
4,487 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at College of Alameda?
11% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is College of Alameda a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is College of Alameda located?
College of Alameda is located in Alameda, California.
What programs does College of Alameda offer?
23 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at College of Alameda?
35 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.