Public Bachelor's Fair 54/100

College of the Marshall Islands

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

About College of the Marshall Islands

Thinking about College of the Marshall Islands, a college in MH where more students graduate in Education than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

College of the Marshall Islands is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Majuro, MH. It enrolls 1,009 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
$9,996
Median Earnings (10yr)
—
Enrollment
1,009
Student : Faculty
18:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
54/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 14
Value —
Affordability 81
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

College of the Marshall Islands does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $9,996 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$9,996
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
89%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$6,840
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$7,480
Room & Board (on-campus)
$3,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,150
Books & Supplies
$2,175
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,658
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,027
Total Cost of Attendance
$17,275
What this means: Aid reaches the majority of students: 89% receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the actual cost to you is likely far below the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

College of the Marshall Islands has not reported completion figures. That is common for smaller and newer schools, but it is worth asking directly how many students finish, because a degree you do not complete still has to be paid for.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

College of the Marshall Islands has not reported graduate earnings. Where that figure is missing, the programs section below is the better guide, since pay follows the field you study more closely than the college you attend.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
—
Earning > $25K
—
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$16,000$17,000$19,000$21,000$22,0006 yrs8 yrs

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,009 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 59% are the first in their family to go to college, and 41% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
1,009
Part-Time
41%
First-Generation
59%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Other 99.3% 1,002
Asian 0.6% 6
Hispanic 0.1% 1
Other: 99.3% (1,002 students)Asian: 0.6% (6 students)Hispanic: 0.1% (1 students)Total1,009

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at College of the Marshall Islands. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Housing
Partly residential 190 beds available
Adult Learners
13% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

College of the Marshall Islands offers a varied set of programs: 12 distinct programs across 7 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 18 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
18:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$2,391
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$2.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$21,449
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

46 instructional faculty across 2 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 45 98% $21,564
No Rank 1 2% $16,125

Pros & Cons of College of the Marshall Islands

No college is right for everyone. Here is where College of the Marshall Islands is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, College of the Marshall Islands is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about College of the Marshall Islands

The questions families ask most about College of the Marshall Islands, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does College of the Marshall Islands cost?
Budget around $9,996 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is College of the Marshall Islands known for?
Mostly Accounting, Liberal Arts, Teacher Education (K-12). Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is College of the Marshall Islands accredited?
Yes. College of the Marshall Islands is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend College of the Marshall Islands?
1,009 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is College of the Marshall Islands a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is College of the Marshall Islands located?
College of the Marshall Islands is located in Majuro, MH.
What programs does College of the Marshall Islands offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Accounting, Liberal Arts, Teacher Education (K-12). If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at College of the Marshall Islands?
18 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.