Public Associate Good 64/100

College of the Redwoods

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Eureka, California

About College of the Redwoods

Thinking about College of the Redwoods, a college in California where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

College of the Redwoods is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Eureka, California. It enrolls 3,829 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
12.7%
Net Price
$6,904
Median Earnings (10yr)
$36,243
Enrollment
3,829
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
64/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 28
Value 70
Affordability 62
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, College of the Redwoods admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $6,904 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$6,904
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
38%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
6%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$1,198
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$8,854
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,117
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,086
Books & Supplies
$1,062
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,175
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,930
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,504

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $5,940
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $6,486
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $8,836
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $11,967
  • Over $110,000
    $13,192

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,000
10% percentile
$3,000
25% percentile
$8,080
Median percentile
$8,003
75% percentile
$12,484
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,666 ↓ $1,414
No Pell $7,190 ↓ $890
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $2,580
Independent students $8,080 —
Female students $7,297 ↓ $783
Male students $6,125 ↓ $1,955
Pell recipients: 16.3% (1,318 students)No Pell: 17.6% (1,422 students)Dependent students: 13.5% (1,088 students)Independent students: 19.8% (1,598 students)Female students: 17.9% (1,443 students)Male students: 15.0% (1,211 students)Overall Median$8,080
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,500, close to what completers borrow ($8,080) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

13% of students who start here finish within six years, and 60% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
13%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
60%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $36,243 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$36,243
Earning > $25K
59%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$31,000$33,000$34,000$35,000$37,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$29,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$36,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $6,800, about 19% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.0 pts across 6 years
49.2%1yr55.9%3yr61.6%5yr65.2%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 65% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,829 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 47% are the first in their family to go to college, and 60% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,829
Part-Time
60%
First-Generation
47%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 49.8% 1,907
Hispanic 24.0% 919
Other 15.6% 597
Black 3.0% 116
Asian 2.8% 106
International 0.0% 1
White: 49.8% (1,907 students)Hispanic: 24.0% (919 students)Other: 15.6% (597 students)Black: 3.0% (116 students)Asian: 2.8% (106 students)International: 0.0% (1 students)Total3,829

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at College of the Redwoods. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Eureka, California
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 170 beds
Adult Learners
45% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Interdisciplinary Studies graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

College of the Redwoods offers a varied set of programs: 39 distinct programs across 23 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
9 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,820
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$3.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$98,611
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

93 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 93 100% $98,611

Pros & Cons of College of the Redwoods

No college is right for everyone. Here is where College of the Redwoods is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, College of the Redwoods is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about College of the Redwoods

The questions families ask most about College of the Redwoods, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is College of the Redwoods hard to get into?
Not especially. College of the Redwoods admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at College of the Redwoods?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does College of the Redwoods cost?
Budget around $6,904 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is College of the Redwoods worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $36,243 a year against a net price of $6,904, about 5.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is College of the Redwoods known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Biological and Physical Sciences, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do College of the Redwoods graduates earn?
About $36,243 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is College of the Redwoods accredited?
Yes. College of the Redwoods is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend College of the Redwoods?
3,829 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at College of the Redwoods?
13% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is College of the Redwoods a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is College of the Redwoods located?
College of the Redwoods is located in Eureka, California.
What programs does College of the Redwoods offer?
39 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Biological and Physical Sciences, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at College of the Redwoods?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.