Public Associate Fair 53/100

College of the Siskiyous

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Weed, California

About College of the Siskiyous

Thinking about College of the Siskiyous, a college in California where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

College of the Siskiyous is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Weed, California. It enrolls 1,190 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
20.3%
Net Price
$11,120
Median Earnings (10yr)
$39,098
Enrollment
1,190
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
53/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 17
Value 48
Affordability 44
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, College of the Siskiyous admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,120 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,120
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
32%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
7%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$1,444
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$9,394
Room & Board (on-campus)
$9,456
Room & Board (off-campus)
$16,434
Books & Supplies
$1,268
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,760
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,929
Total Cost of Attendance
$17,725

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,816
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $7,489
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $12,443
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $14,567
  • Over $110,000
    $17,725

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,248
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$10,750
Median percentile
$12,000
75% percentile
$20,520
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,212 ↓ $1,538
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $5,250
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $5,250
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $1,250
Female students $9,500 ↓ $1,250
Male students $7,000 ↓ $3,750
Pell recipients: 19.9% (2,143 students)No Pell: 11.9% (1,279 students)Dependent students: 11.9% (1,279 students)Independent students: 20.6% (2,210 students)Female students: 20.6% (2,210 students)Male students: 15.1% (1,628 students)Overall Median$10,750
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,240, less than completers ($10,750), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

20% of students who start here finish within six years, and 51% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
20%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
51%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $39,098 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$39,098
Earning > $25K
60%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$34,000$35,000$37,000$38,000$40,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$27,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$36,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$26,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$38,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$48,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,600, about 26% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 27.7 pts across 6 years
45.3%1yr53.8%3yr61.4%5yr73.1%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 73% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,190 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 45% are the first in their family to go to college, and 48% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
1,190
Part-Time
48%
First-Generation
45%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 56.9% 677
Hispanic 19.0% 226
Other 13.9% 166
Black 2.9% 34
Asian 2.0% 24
International 1.5% 18
White: 56.9% (677 students)Hispanic: 19.0% (226 students)Other: 13.9% (166 students)Black: 2.9% (34 students)Asian: 2.0% (24 students)International: 1.5% (18 students)Total1,190

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at College of the Siskiyous. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Distant Weed, California
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 153 beds
Adult Learners
37% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Social Sciences graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

College of the Siskiyous offers a varied set of programs: 27 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,891
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$1.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$97,138
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

34 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 34 100% $97,138

Pros & Cons of College of the Siskiyous

No college is right for everyone. Here is where College of the Siskiyous is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, College of the Siskiyous is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about College of the Siskiyous

The questions families ask most about College of the Siskiyous, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is College of the Siskiyous hard to get into?
Not especially. College of the Siskiyous admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at College of the Siskiyous?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does College of the Siskiyous cost?
Budget around $11,120 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is College of the Siskiyous worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $39,098 a year against a net price of $11,120, about 3.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is College of the Siskiyous known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Social Sciences, Allied Health Diagnostic. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do College of the Siskiyous graduates earn?
About $39,098 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is College of the Siskiyous accredited?
Yes. College of the Siskiyous is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend College of the Siskiyous?
1,190 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at College of the Siskiyous?
20% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is College of the Siskiyous a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is College of the Siskiyous located?
College of the Siskiyous is located in Weed, California.
What programs does College of the Siskiyous offer?
27 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Social Sciences, Allied Health Diagnostic. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at College of the Siskiyous?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.