Public Associate Fair 54/100

Columbia Gorge Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

The Dalles, Oregon

About Columbia Gorge Community College

Thinking about Columbia Gorge Community College, a college in Oregon where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Columbia Gorge Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in The Dalles, Oregon. It enrolls 543 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
20.5%
Net Price
$10,416
Median Earnings (10yr)
$44,440
Enrollment
543
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
54/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 13
Value 58
Affordability 43
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Columbia Gorge Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,416 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,416
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
29%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
13%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$5,940
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$10,260
Room & Board (on-campus)
$7,341
Room & Board (off-campus)
$15,975
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,676
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,676
Total Cost of Attendance
$18,608

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,752
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$19,397
Median percentile
$18,903
75% percentile
$29,066
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,500 ↓ $9,897
No Pell $4,719 ↓ $14,678
Dependent students $4,083 ↓ $15,314
Independent students $10,500 ↓ $8,897
Female students $9,500 ↓ $9,897
Male students $5,482 ↓ $13,915
Pell recipients: 21.7% (4,209 students)No Pell: 10.8% (2,091 students)Dependent students: 9.3% (1,809 students)Independent students: 24.0% (4,652 students)Female students: 21.7% (4,209 students)Male students: 12.5% (2,429 students)Overall Median$19,397
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,063, less than completers ($19,397), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

21% of students who start here finish within six years, and 52% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
21%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
52%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $44,440 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$44,440
Earning > $25K
73%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$36,000$39,000$41,000$43,000$46,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$4.3 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 543 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college, and 55% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
543
Part-Time
55%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 43.3% 235
Hispanic 35.9% 195
Other 4.1% 22
Asian 0.7% 4
Black 0.2% 1
White: 43.3% (235 students)Hispanic: 35.9% (195 students)Other: 4.1% (22 students)Asian: 0.7% (4 students)Black: 0.2% (1 students)Total543

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Columbia Gorge Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote The Dalles, Oregon
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 50 beds
Adult Learners
30% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Columbia Gorge Community College offers a focused set of programs: 6 distinct programs across 6 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$12,347
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$2.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$63,420
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

27 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 27 100% $63,420

Pros & Cons of Columbia Gorge Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Columbia Gorge Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Columbia Gorge Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Columbia Gorge Community College

The questions families ask most about Columbia Gorge Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Columbia Gorge Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Columbia Gorge Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Columbia Gorge Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Columbia Gorge Community College cost?
Budget around $10,416 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Columbia Gorge Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $44,440 a year against a net price of $10,416, about 4.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Columbia Gorge Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Columbia Gorge Community College graduates earn?
About $44,440 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Columbia Gorge Community College accredited?
Yes. Columbia Gorge Community College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
How many students attend Columbia Gorge Community College?
543 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Columbia Gorge Community College?
21% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Columbia Gorge Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Columbia Gorge Community College located?
Columbia Gorge Community College is located in The Dalles, Oregon.
What programs does Columbia Gorge Community College offer?
6 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Columbia Gorge Community College?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.