Public Associate Strong 75/100

Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

De Queen, Arkansas

About Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas

Thinking about Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas, a college in Arkansas where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas is a public institution offering associate degrees based in De Queen, Arkansas. It enrolls 772 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
42.2%
Net Price
$4,385
Median Earnings (10yr)
$33,775
Enrollment
772
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
75/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 49
Value 87
Affordability 64
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $4,385 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$4,385
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
32%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,200
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$5,070
Room & Board (on-campus)
$9,368
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,025
Books & Supplies
$300
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,692
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,497
Total Cost of Attendance
$11,538

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $3,452
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $4,033
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $6,507
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $7,452
What this means: 32% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

42% of students who start here finish within six years, and 63% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
42%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $33,775 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$33,775
Earning > $25K
58%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$29,500$31,000$32,000$33,000$34,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$25,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$34,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,100, about 26% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$7.7 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 772 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 59% are the first in their family to go to college, and 54% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
772
Part-Time
54%
First-Generation
59%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 44.2% 341
Hispanic 27.6% 213
Black 12.2% 94
Other 4.3% 33
Asian 0.3% 2
White: 44.2% (341 students)Hispanic: 27.6% (213 students)Black: 12.2% (94 students)Other: 4.3% (33 students)Asian: 0.3% (2 students)Total772

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote De Queen, Arkansas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
15% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas offers a varied set of programs: 29 distinct programs across 14 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
6 Programs
2 Programs
4 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$9,301
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$155,296
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$48,210
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

51 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 51 100% $48,210

Pros & Cons of Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas

The questions families ask most about Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas hard to get into?
Not especially. Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas cost?
Budget around $4,385 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $33,775 a year against a net price of $4,385, about 7.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Health Sciences. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas graduates earn?
About $33,775 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas accredited?
Yes. Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas?
772 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas?
42% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas located?
Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas is located in De Queen, Arkansas.
What programs does Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas offer?
29 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Health Sciences. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.