Private For-Profit Graduate Average 40/100

DeVry University-California

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Ontario, California

About DeVry University-California

Thinking about DeVry University-California, a college in California where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

DeVry University-California is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Ontario, California. It enrolls 2,378 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
98.5%
Graduation
19.6%
Net Price
$33,744
Median Earnings (10yr)
$45,987
Enrollment
2,378
Student : Faculty
18:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Average
40/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 6
Value 4
Affordability 52
Selectivity 3

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

DeVry University-California admits 98.5% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
98.5%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Not Considered Standardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether DeVry University-California is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Getting more selective ↓ 52.2 pts since 2019
95.5%201945.6%202044.9%202140.1%202243.3%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $33,744 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$33,744
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
62%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
65%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$17,408
Room & Board (off-campus)
$16,608
Books & Supplies
$1,100
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$8,676
Total Cost of Attendance
$40,687

Application fee: $30 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $33,463
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $33,261
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $32,499
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $35,104
  • Over $110,000
    $39,024

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,677
10% percentile
$5,914
25% percentile
$24,807
Median percentile
$37,954
75% percentile
$52,450
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,802 ↓ $12,005
No Pell $12,904 ↓ $11,903
Dependent students $11,895 ↓ $12,912
Independent students $12,955 ↓ $11,852
Female students $12,170 ↓ $12,637
Male students $14,559 ↓ $10,248
Pell recipients: 16.6% (4,109 students)No Pell: 16.7% (4,142 students)Dependent students: 15.4% (3,818 students)Independent students: 16.8% (4,158 students)Female students: 15.7% (3,906 students)Male students: 18.8% (4,673 students)Overall Median$24,807
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,750, less than completers ($24,807), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

20% of students who start here finish within six years, and 60% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
20%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
60%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $45,987 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$45,987
Earning > $25K
70%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$41,500$43,000$44,000$45,500$46,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$42,500

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$54,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$41,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$52,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$63,600

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $12,100, about 22% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 24.0 pts across 6 years
44.4%1yr55.4%3yr66.6%5yr68.4%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 68% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,378 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 50% are the first in their family to go to college, and 43% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
2,378
Part-Time
43%
First-Generation
50%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 38.2% 909
White 23.0% 548
Black 15.6% 370
Asian 9.3% 221
Other 5.9% 141
International 0.5% 12
Hispanic: 38.2% (909 students)White: 23.0% (548 students)Black: 15.6% (370 students)Asian: 9.3% (221 students)Other: 5.9% (141 students)International: 0.5% (12 students)Total2,378

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at DeVry University-California. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Ontario, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
86% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Computer Science graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

DeVry University-California offers a varied set of programs: 24 distinct programs across 7 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

8 Programs
7 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 18 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
18:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$84,694
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

23 instructional faculty across 2 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 19 83% $87,303
Associate Professors 4 17% $72,300

Pros & Cons of DeVry University-California

No college is right for everyone. Here is where DeVry University-California is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, DeVry University-California is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about DeVry University-California

The questions families ask most about DeVry University-California, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is DeVry University-California hard to get into?
Not especially. DeVry University-California admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 98.5%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at DeVry University-California?
98.5% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does DeVry University-California cost?
Budget around $33,744 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is DeVry University-California worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $45,987 a year against a net price of $33,744, about 1.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is DeVry University-California known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Information Systems, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do DeVry University-California graduates earn?
About $45,987 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is DeVry University-California accredited?
Yes. DeVry University-California is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend DeVry University-California?
2,378 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at DeVry University-California?
20% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is DeVry University-California a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is DeVry University-California located?
DeVry University-California is located in Ontario, California.
What programs does DeVry University-California offer?
24 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Information Systems, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at DeVry University-California?
18 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.