Public Associate Good 62/100

Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Moorefield, West Virginia

About Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College

Thinking about Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College, a college in West Virginia where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Moorefield, West Virginia. It enrolls 225 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
21.5%
Net Price
$8,095
Median Earnings (10yr)
$31,636
Enrollment
225
Student : Faculty
8:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
62/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 42
Value 54
Affordability 45
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $8,095 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$8,095
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
27%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
12%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$4,722
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,547
Books & Supplies
$1,726
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,836
Total Cost of Attendance
$17,258

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $6,392
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $8,962
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $10,281
  • Over $110,000
    $12,425

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,000
10% percentile
$3,916
25% percentile
$8,500
Median percentile
$15,856
75% percentile
$23,642
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $3,000
Independent students $5,750 ↓ $2,750
Dependent students: 48.9% (4,156 students)Independent students: 51.1% (4,344 students)Overall Median$8,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $3,875, less than completers ($8,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

22% of students who start here finish within six years, and 64% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
22%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
64%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $31,636 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$31,636
Earning > $25K
52%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$30,000$30,500$31,000$31,500$32,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.9 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 225 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 63% are the first in their family to go to college, and 41% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
225
Part-Time
41%
First-Generation
63%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 89.8% 202
Other 5.3% 12
Black 2.2% 5
Hispanic 1.8% 4
Asian 0.9% 2
White: 89.8% (202 students)Other: 5.3% (12 students)Black: 2.2% (5 students)Hispanic: 1.8% (4 students)Asian: 0.9% (2 students)Total225

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Remote Moorefield, West Virginia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
25% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College offers a varied set of programs: 14 distinct programs across 10 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
2 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 8 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,980
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$41,088
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

14 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 3 21% $47,463
Assistant Professors 4 29% $38,693
Instructors 7 50% $40,853

Pros & Cons of Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College

The questions families ask most about Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College hard to get into?
Not especially. Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College cost?
Budget around $8,095 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $31,636 a year against a net price of $8,095, about 3.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College graduates earn?
About $31,636 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College accredited?
Yes. Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College?
225 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College?
22% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College located?
Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College is located in Moorefield, West Virginia.
What programs does Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College offer?
14 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College?
8 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.