Public Bachelor's Good 61/100

Edmonds College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Lynnwood, Washington

About Edmonds College

Thinking about Edmonds College, a college in Washington where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Edmonds College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Lynnwood, Washington. It enrolls 3,656 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
13.3%
Net Price
$11,010
Median Earnings (10yr)
$48,144
Enrollment
3,656
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
61/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 31
Value 69
Affordability 34
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Edmonds College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,010 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,010
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
14%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
5%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,810
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$10,875
Room & Board (on-campus)
$17,889
Room & Board (off-campus)
$23,442
Books & Supplies
$987
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,750
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,848
Total Cost of Attendance
$20,062

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,133
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $9,942
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $13,101
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $15,000
  • Over $110,000
    $20,062

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,626
10% percentile
$3,125
25% percentile
$11,855
Median percentile
$12,667
75% percentile
$21,227
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,086 ↓ $2,769
No Pell $5,959 ↓ $5,896
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $6,355
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $2,355
Female students $7,000 ↓ $4,855
Male students $8,506 ↓ $3,349
Pell recipients: 19.9% (2,365 students)No Pell: 13.1% (1,551 students)Dependent students: 12.1% (1,431 students)Independent students: 20.9% (2,472 students)Female students: 15.4% (1,822 students)Male students: 18.7% (2,214 students)Overall Median$11,855
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,592, less than completers ($11,855), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

13% of students who start here finish within six years. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
13%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $48,144 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$48,144
Earning > $25K
70%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$40,000$42,000$45,000$47,000$49,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$37,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$52,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$37,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$48,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$56,100

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $14,900, about 29% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 7.4 pts across 6 years
55.4%1yr57.1%3yr59.9%5yr62.7%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 63% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,656 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 44% are the first in their family to go to college, and 49% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,656
Part-Time
49%
First-Generation
44%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 30.0% 1,097
Hispanic 15.0% 549
Asian 12.5% 455
International 10.5% 385
Other 8.7% 317
Black 8.3% 304
White: 30.0% (1,097 students)Hispanic: 15.0% (549 students)Asian: 12.5% (455 students)International: 10.5% (385 students)Other: 8.7% (317 students)Black: 8.3% (304 students)Total3,656

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Edmonds College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Lynnwood, Washington
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 400 beds
Adult Learners
39% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Edmonds College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 55 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
11 Programs
11 Programs
8 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$13,374
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$3.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$87,272
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

105 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 105 100% $87,272

Pros & Cons of Edmonds College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Edmonds College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Edmonds College is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Edmonds College

The questions families ask most about Edmonds College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Edmonds College cost?
Budget around $11,010 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Edmonds College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $48,144 a year against a net price of $11,010, about 4.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Edmonds College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business, Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Edmonds College graduates earn?
About $48,144 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Edmonds College accredited?
Yes. Edmonds College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
How many students attend Edmonds College?
3,656 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Edmonds College?
13% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Edmonds College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Edmonds College located?
Edmonds College is located in Lynnwood, Washington.
What programs does Edmonds College offer?
55 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business, Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Edmonds College?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.