Public Graduate Good 69/100

Empire State University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Saratoga Springs, New York

About Empire State University

Thinking about Empire State University, a college in New York where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Empire State University is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Saratoga Springs, New York. It enrolls 7,585 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
32.6%
Net Price
$11,676
Median Earnings (10yr)
$54,080
Enrollment
7,585
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Trimester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
69/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 47
Value 72
Affordability 51
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Empire State University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,676 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,676
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
37%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
34%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$7,648
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$17,558
Room & Board (off-campus)
$14,230
Books & Supplies
$1,776
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,820
Total Cost of Attendance
$19,699

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $8,989
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,507
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $14,812
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $16,481
  • Over $110,000
    $19,679

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$6,250
25% percentile
$18,730
Median percentile
$25,511
75% percentile
$37,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,084 ↓ $7,646
No Pell $10,395 ↓ $8,335
Dependent students $7,500 ↓ $11,230
Independent students $12,237 ↓ $6,493
Female students $11,082 ↓ $7,648
Male students $10,468 ↓ $8,262
Pell recipients: 17.7% (3,308 students)No Pell: 16.6% (3,102 students)Dependent students: 11.9% (2,238 students)Independent students: 19.5% (3,652 students)Female students: 17.7% (3,307 students)Male students: 16.7% (3,124 students)Overall Median$18,730
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($18,730), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

33% of students who start here finish within six years, and 56% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
33%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
56%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $54,080 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$54,080
Earning > $25K
75%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$50,000$51,000$52,000$53,000$55,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$41,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$58,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$37,600

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$49,200

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$62,800

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $16,900, about 29% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 14.5 pts across 6 years
48.7%1yr53.9%3yr63.2%5yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 63% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 7,585 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 45% are the first in their family to go to college, and 49% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
7,585
Part-Time
49%
First-Generation
45%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 45.9% 3,484
Hispanic 16.4% 1,241
Black 16.1% 1,219
Other 3.7% 279
Asian 3.5% 262
International 0.6% 47
White: 45.9% (3,484 students)Hispanic: 16.4% (1,241 students)Black: 16.1% (1,219 students)Other: 3.7% (279 students)Asian: 3.5% (262 students)International: 0.6% (47 students)Total7,585

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Empire State University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small Suburb Saratoga Springs, New York
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
74% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Trimester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Public Administration graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Empire State University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 63 distinct programs across 15 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

15 Programs
6 Programs
6 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$8,463
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$25M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$73,882
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

162 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 54 33% $82,918
Associate Professors 63 39% $74,664
Assistant Professors 43 27% $62,097
Instructors 1 1% $45,975
Lecturers 1 1% $71,302

Pros & Cons of Empire State University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Empire State University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
Best for: Based on the data, Empire State University is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Empire State University

The questions families ask most about Empire State University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Empire State University cost?
Budget around $11,676 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Empire State University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $54,080 a year against a net price of $11,676, about 4.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Empire State University known for?
Mostly Business, Community Organization and Advocacy, Human Resources. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Empire State University graduates earn?
About $54,080 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Empire State University accredited?
Yes. Empire State University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Empire State University?
7,585 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Empire State University?
33% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Empire State University a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Empire State University located?
Empire State University is located in Saratoga Springs, New York.
What programs does Empire State University offer?
63 different programs, most commonly Business, Community Organization and Advocacy, Human Resources. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Empire State University?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.