Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 69/100

Ensign College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Salt Lake City, Utah

About Ensign College

Thinking about Ensign College, a college in Utah where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Ensign College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Salt Lake City, Utah. It enrolls 7,568 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
26.7%
Net Price
$10,824
Median Earnings (10yr)
$50,630
Enrollment
7,568
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
69/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 52
Value 73
Affordability 33
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Ensign College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,824 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,824
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
8%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
2%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$4,004
Room & Board (off-campus)
$7,136
Books & Supplies
$278
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,742
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,145

Application fee: $35 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $10,436
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,525
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $11,481
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,403
  • Over $110,000
    $14,145

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,546
10% percentile
$2,000
25% percentile
$7,000
75% percentile
$11,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $4,295 —
No Pell $3,499 —
Dependent students $3,500 —
Independent students $3,919 —
Female students $3,500 —
Male students $3,500 —
Pell recipients: 19.3%No Pell: 15.8%Dependent students: 15.8%Independent students: 17.6%Female students: 15.8%Male students: 15.8%Overall Median—
What this means: Only 8% of students at Ensign College receive Pell grants. Most enrolled families don't qualify for need-based federal aid.

Graduation Rate & Retention

27% of students who start here finish within six years, and 59% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
27%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
59%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $50,630 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$50,630
Earning > $25K
74%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$42,000$45,000$47,000$49,000$52,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$26,700

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$58,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$42,200

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$44,700

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$41,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $31,800, about 54% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 14.6 pts across 6 years
74.6%1yr74.8%3yr81.9%5yr89.2%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 89% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 7,568 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 77% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
7,568
Part-Time
77%
First-Generation
30%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 23.3% 1,760
International 11.3% 852
Hispanic 4.5% 343
Other 2.0% 150
Black 0.7% 52
Asian 0.6% 42
White: 23.3% (1,760 students)International: 11.3% (852 students)Hispanic: 4.5% (343 students)Other: 2.0% (150 students)Black: 0.7% (52 students)Asian: 0.6% (42 students)Total7,568

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Ensign College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Salt Lake City, Utah
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
64% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Ensign College offers a varied set of programs: 18 distinct programs across 8 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
7 Programs
1 Program
4 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$64M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$77,603
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

20 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 20 100% $77,603

Pros & Cons of Ensign College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Ensign College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students don't qualify for need-based federal aid
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Ensign College is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Ensign College

The questions families ask most about Ensign College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Ensign College cost?
Budget around $10,824 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ensign College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $50,630 a year against a net price of $10,824, about 4.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Ensign College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Design, Entrepreneurship. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Ensign College graduates earn?
About $50,630 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ensign College accredited?
Yes. Ensign College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
How many students attend Ensign College?
7,568 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Ensign College?
27% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Ensign College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Ensign College located?
Ensign College is located in Salt Lake City, Utah.
What programs does Ensign College offer?
18 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Design, Entrepreneurship. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Ensign College?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.