Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 57/100

Evangel University-College of Online Learning

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Springfield, Missouri

About Evangel University-College of Online Learning

Thinking about Evangel University-College of Online Learning, a college in Missouri where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Evangel University-College of Online Learning is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Springfield, Missouri. It enrolls 240 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
49.2%
Graduation
57.5%
Net Price
$22,503
Median Earnings (10yr)
$46,573
Enrollment
240
Student : Faculty
8:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
57/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 23
Value 23
Affordability 57
Selectivity 83

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Evangel University-College of Online Learning admits 49.2% of applicants, which makes it genuinely competitive, so your application needs to be strong.

Acceptance Rate
49.2%
Selective
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Not Considered Standardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,503 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$22,503
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
44%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
69%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$8,175
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,132
Books & Supplies
$1,026
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,773
Total Cost of Attendance
$26,454

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,766
10% percentile
$7,000
25% percentile
$24,736
Median percentile
$28,000
75% percentile
$36,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $19,500 ↓ $5,236
No Pell $13,000 ↓ $11,736
Dependent students $17,490 ↓ $7,246
Independent students $17,639 ↓ $7,097
Female students $18,750 ↓ $5,986
Male students $16,000 ↓ $8,736
Pell recipients: 19.0% (4,711 students)No Pell: 12.7% (3,141 students)Dependent students: 17.1% (4,226 students)Independent students: 17.2% (4,262 students)Female students: 18.3% (4,530 students)Male students: 15.6% (3,866 students)Overall Median$24,736
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,250, less than completers ($24,736), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

58% of students who start here finish within six years, and 64% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
58%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
64%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $46,573 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$46,573
Earning > $25K
76%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$38,000$41,000$43,000$45,000$48,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$34,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$49,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$39,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$39,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$43,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $14,600, about 30% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 20.7 pts across 6 years
69.6%1yr73.6%3yr83.8%5yr90.3%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 90% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 240 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 45% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
240
Part-Time
45%
First-Generation
26%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 75.0% 180
Hispanic 12.1% 29
Other 5.4% 13
Black 3.8% 9
Asian 0.8% 2
International 0.4% 1
White: 75.0% (180 students)Hispanic: 12.1% (29 students)Other: 5.4% (13 students)Black: 3.8% (9 students)Asian: 0.8% (2 students)International: 0.4% (1 students)Total240

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Evangel University-College of Online Learning. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Springfield, Missouri
Housing
Commuter campus Online-only, no physical campus
Adult Learners
66% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Online-only institution
Designation
Religiously affiliated
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Public Administration graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Evangel University-College of Online Learning offers a focused set of programs: 7 distinct programs across 4 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 8 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$36,531
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Evangel University-College of Online Learning

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Evangel University-College of Online Learning is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Selective admissions, solid academic profile expected
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Evangel University-College of Online Learning is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Evangel University-College of Online Learning

The questions families ask most about Evangel University-College of Online Learning, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Evangel University-College of Online Learning hard to get into?
Evangel University-College of Online Learning is selective but not extremely competitive. Its acceptance rate is 49.2%. Strong academic credentials and a thoughtful application materially improve your odds.
What is the acceptance rate at Evangel University-College of Online Learning?
49.2% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Evangel University-College of Online Learning cost?
Budget around $22,503 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Evangel University-College of Online Learning worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $46,573 a year against a net price of $22,503, about 2.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Evangel University-College of Online Learning known for?
Mostly Bible/Biblical Studies, Human, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Evangel University-College of Online Learning graduates earn?
About $46,573 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Evangel University-College of Online Learning accredited?
Yes. Evangel University-College of Online Learning is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Evangel University-College of Online Learning?
240 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Evangel University-College of Online Learning?
58% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Evangel University-College of Online Learning a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Evangel University-College of Online Learning located?
Evangel University-College of Online Learning is located in Springfield, Missouri.
What programs does Evangel University-College of Online Learning offer?
7 different programs, most commonly Bible/Biblical Studies, Human, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Evangel University-College of Online Learning?
8 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.