Private For-Profit Associate Fair 50/100

Fortis Institute-Birmingham

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Birmingham, Alabama

About Fortis Institute-Birmingham

Thinking about Fortis Institute-Birmingham, a college in Alabama where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Fortis Institute-Birmingham is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Birmingham, Alabama. It enrolls 613 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
64.9%
Net Price
$25,946
Median Earnings (10yr)
$32,886
Enrollment
613
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic Calendar Other Academic Year

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
50/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 25
Value 9
Affordability 56
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Fortis Institute-Birmingham admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $25,946 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$25,946
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
81%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
70%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$15,335
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,800
Books & Supplies
$1,320
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$8,325
Total Cost of Attendance
$32,927

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $25,257
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $26,309
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $29,229
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $32,927
  • Over $110,000
    $32,927

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,167
10% percentile
$6,334
25% percentile
$12,346
Median percentile
$13,992
75% percentile
$23,501
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,500 ↓ $2,846
No Pell $9,500 ↓ $2,846
Dependent students $7,667 ↓ $4,679
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $2,846
Female students $9,500 ↓ $2,846
Male students $9,833 ↓ $2,513
Pell recipients: 17.1% (2,113 students)No Pell: 17.1% (2,113 students)Dependent students: 13.8% (1,706 students)Independent students: 17.1% (2,113 students)Female students: 17.1% (2,113 students)Male students: 17.7% (2,187 students)Overall Median$12,346
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,959, less than completers ($12,346), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

65% of students who start here finish within six years, and 59% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
65%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
59%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,886 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,886
Earning > $25K
55%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$30,500$31,500$32,500$34,000$35,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$26,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$41,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$26,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$32,700

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$35,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $14,200, about 35% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 5.2 pts across 6 years
32.5%1yr34.5%3yr38%5yr37.8%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 38% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 613 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 55% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
613
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
55%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 80.3% 492
White 9.0% 55
Hispanic 6.9% 42
Other 2.3% 14
Asian 0.5% 3
Black: 80.3% (492 students)White: 9.0% (55 students)Hispanic: 6.9% (42 students)Other: 2.3% (14 students)Asian: 0.5% (3 students)Total613

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Fortis Institute-Birmingham. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Birmingham, Alabama
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
46% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Other Academic Year scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Mechanics & Repair graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Fortis Institute-Birmingham offers a focused set of programs: 8 distinct programs across 4 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$45,791
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

10 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 10 100% $45,791

Pros & Cons of Fortis Institute-Birmingham

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Fortis Institute-Birmingham is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Fortis Institute-Birmingham is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Fortis Institute-Birmingham

The questions families ask most about Fortis Institute-Birmingham, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Fortis Institute-Birmingham hard to get into?
Not especially. Fortis Institute-Birmingham admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Fortis Institute-Birmingham?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Fortis Institute-Birmingham cost?
Budget around $25,946 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Fortis Institute-Birmingham worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,886 a year against a net price of $25,946, about 1.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Fortis Institute-Birmingham known for?
Mostly Medical Assisting, Dental Support Services and Allied Professions, Heating. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Fortis Institute-Birmingham graduates earn?
About $32,886 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Fortis Institute-Birmingham accredited?
Yes. Fortis Institute-Birmingham is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend Fortis Institute-Birmingham?
613 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Fortis Institute-Birmingham?
65% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Fortis Institute-Birmingham a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Fortis Institute-Birmingham located?
Fortis Institute-Birmingham is located in Birmingham, Alabama.
What programs does Fortis Institute-Birmingham offer?
8 different programs, most commonly Medical Assisting, Dental Support Services and Allied Professions, Heating. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Fortis Institute-Birmingham?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.