Public Associate Strong 73/100

Gadsden State Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Gadsden, Alabama

About Gadsden State Community College

Thinking about Gadsden State Community College, a college in Alabama where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Gadsden State Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Gadsden, Alabama. It enrolls 3,548 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
18%
Net Price
$3,515
Median Earnings (10yr)
$32,937
Enrollment
3,548
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
73/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 33
Value 92
Affordability 79
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Gadsden State Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $3,515 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$3,515
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
46%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,272
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$7,368
Room & Board (on-campus)
$5,400
Room & Board (off-campus)
$4,500
Books & Supplies
$1,600
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,324
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,916
Total Cost of Attendance
$10,189

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $3,438
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $2,617
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $5,330
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $6,081
  • Over $110,000
    $8,944
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 46% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

18% of students who start here finish within six years, and 61% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
18%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
61%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,937 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,937
Earning > $25K
55%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$29,500$30,500$31,500$32,500$33,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$27,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$36,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,800, about 27% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$9.4 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,548 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 51% are the first in their family to go to college, and 44% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,548
Part-Time
44%
First-Generation
51%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 66.4% 2,354
Black 18.6% 659
Hispanic 8.3% 293
Other 5.1% 180
Asian 0.9% 31
International 0.8% 27
White: 66.4% (2,354 students)Black: 18.6% (659 students)Hispanic: 8.3% (293 students)Other: 5.1% (180 students)Asian: 0.9% (31 students)International: 0.8% (27 students)Total3,548

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Gadsden State Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Gadsden, Alabama
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 110 beds
Adult Learners
26% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Historically Black College / University (HBCU)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Gadsden State Community College offers a varied set of programs: 29 distinct programs across 10 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$5,467
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$3.8M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$65,247
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

129 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 129 100% $65,247

Pros & Cons of Gadsden State Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Gadsden State Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Gadsden State Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Gadsden State Community College

The questions families ask most about Gadsden State Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Gadsden State Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Gadsden State Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Gadsden State Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Gadsden State Community College cost?
Budget around $3,515 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Gadsden State Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,937 a year against a net price of $3,515, about 9.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Gadsden State Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Gadsden State Community College graduates earn?
About $32,937 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Gadsden State Community College accredited?
Yes. Gadsden State Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Gadsden State Community College?
3,548 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Gadsden State Community College?
18% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Gadsden State Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Gadsden State Community College located?
Gadsden State Community College is located in Gadsden, Alabama.
What programs does Gadsden State Community College offer?
29 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Gadsden State Community College?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.