Private For-Profit Bachelor's Good 69/100

Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Cincinnati, Ohio

About Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati

Thinking about Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati is a private for-profit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Cincinnati, Ohio. It enrolls 645 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
56.3%
Net Price
$28,785
Median Earnings (10yr)
$61,480
Enrollment
645
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
69/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 81
Value 30
Affordability 45
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $28,785 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$28,785
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
58%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
86%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$18,048
Room & Board (off-campus)
$17,028
Books & Supplies
$1,350
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,951
Total Cost of Attendance
$34,842

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $28,402
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $29,313
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $28,053
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $33,814
  • Over $110,000
    $31,760

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,167
10% percentile
$6,334
25% percentile
$24,166
Median percentile
$24,166
75% percentile
$33,943
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $17,365 ↓ $6,801
No Pell $15,800 ↓ $8,366
Dependent students $12,786 ↓ $11,380
Independent students $18,832 ↓ $5,334
Female students $16,500 ↓ $7,666
Male students $15,819 ↓ $8,347
Pell recipients: 17.9% (4,322 students)No Pell: 16.3% (3,932 students)Dependent students: 13.2% (3,182 students)Independent students: 19.4% (4,687 students)Female students: 17.0% (4,106 students)Male students: 16.3% (3,937 students)Overall Median$24,166
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($24,166), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

56% of students who start here finish within six years, and 81% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
56%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
81%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $61,480 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$61,480
Earning > $25K
83%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$58,500$59,500$60,000$61,000$62,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$43,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$52,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$41,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$46,200

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$51,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $8,800, about 17% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 15.7 pts across 6 years
40.8%1yr46.1%3yr53%5yr56.5%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 57% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 645 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 49% are the first in their family to go to college, and 40% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
645
Part-Time
40%
First-Generation
49%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 46.5% 300
Black 28.2% 182
Asian 4.3% 28
Other 2.0% 13
Hispanic 1.7% 11
White: 46.5% (300 students)Black: 28.2% (182 students)Asian: 4.3% (28 students)Other: 2.0% (13 students)Hispanic: 1.7% (11 students)Total645

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Cincinnati, Ohio
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
67% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$57,841
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

22 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 22 100% $57,841

Pros & Cons of Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati

The questions families ask most about Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati cost?
Budget around $28,785 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $61,480 a year against a net price of $28,785, about 2.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati known for?
Mostly Nursing, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati graduates earn?
About $61,480 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati accredited?
Yes. Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati?
645 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati?
56% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati located?
Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati is located in Cincinnati, Ohio.
What programs does Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Galen College of Nursing-Cincinnati?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.