Public Bachelor's Fair 54/100

Georgia Military College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Milledgeville, Georgia

About Georgia Military College

Thinking about Georgia Military College, a college in Georgia where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Georgia Military College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Milledgeville, Georgia. It enrolls 3,992 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
15.6%
Net Price
$16,923
Median Earnings (10yr)
$39,257
Enrollment
3,992
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
54/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 32
Value 35
Affordability 39
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Georgia Military College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $16,923 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$16,923
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
34%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
38%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$8,112
Room & Board (on-campus)
$9,904
Room & Board (off-campus)
$16,151
Books & Supplies
$720
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$7,188
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$9,072
Total Cost of Attendance
$20,987

Application fee: $35 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $15,265
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $17,703
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $17,632
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $20,322

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,300
10% percentile
$2,400
25% percentile
$8,563
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile
$16,832
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,500 ↓ $3,063
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $3,063
Dependent students $4,791 ↓ $3,772
Independent students $7,125 ↓ $1,438
Female students $5,500 ↓ $3,063
Male students $5,500 ↓ $3,063
Pell recipients: 16.2% (1,389 students)No Pell: 16.2% (1,389 students)Dependent students: 14.1% (1,210 students)Independent students: 21.0% (1,799 students)Female students: 16.2% (1,389 students)Male students: 16.2% (1,389 students)Overall Median$8,563
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,049, less than completers ($8,563), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

16% of students who start here finish within six years, and 41% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
16%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
41%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $39,257 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$39,257
Earning > $25K
65%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$31,000$34,000$36,000$38,000$40,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$32,700

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$41,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$33,100

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$37,600

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$41,100

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $8,500, about 21% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 26.9 pts across 6 years
30.5%1yr35.5%3yr42.4%5yr57.5%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 57% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,992 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 41% are the first in their family to go to college, and 41% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,992
Part-Time
41%
First-Generation
41%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 43.5% 1,738
White 34.6% 1,383
Hispanic 10.1% 404
Asian 2.9% 117
Other 1.9% 75
International 0.9% 35
Black: 43.5% (1,738 students)White: 34.6% (1,383 students)Hispanic: 10.1% (404 students)Asian: 2.9% (117 students)Other: 1.9% (75 students)International: 0.9% (35 students)Total3,992

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Georgia Military College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Milledgeville, Georgia
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 270 beds
Adult Learners
22% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Georgia Military College offers a varied set of programs: 28 distinct programs across 18 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
4 Programs
3 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,138
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$26M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$49,182
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

84 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 42 50% $53,202
Associate Professors 11 13% $45,712
Assistant Professors 31 37% $44,968

Pros & Cons of Georgia Military College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Georgia Military College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Georgia Military College is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Georgia Military College

The questions families ask most about Georgia Military College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Georgia Military College cost?
Budget around $16,923 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Georgia Military College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $39,257 a year against a net price of $16,923, about 2.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Georgia Military College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Health/Medical Preparatory, Business. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Georgia Military College graduates earn?
About $39,257 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Georgia Military College accredited?
Yes. Georgia Military College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Georgia Military College?
3,992 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Georgia Military College?
16% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Georgia Military College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Georgia Military College located?
Georgia Military College is located in Milledgeville, Georgia.
What programs does Georgia Military College offer?
28 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Health/Medical Preparatory, Business. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Georgia Military College?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.