Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 62/100

Goodwin University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

East Hartford, Connecticut

About Goodwin University

Thinking about Goodwin University, a college in Connecticut where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Goodwin University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in East Hartford, Connecticut. It enrolls 2,693 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
25.8%
Net Price
$29,249
Median Earnings (10yr)
$43,596
Enrollment
2,693
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
62/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 70
Value 17
Affordability 42
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Goodwin University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $29,249 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$29,249
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
54%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
77%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$21,198
Room & Board (off-campus)
$14,536
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$12,382
Total Cost of Attendance
$39,589

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $28,205
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $29,159
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $29,804
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $33,401
  • Over $110,000
    $30,550

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$33,500
Median percentile
$29,250
75% percentile
$44,849
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $14,250 ↓ $19,250
No Pell $12,000 ↓ $21,500
Dependent students $9,710 ↓ $23,790
Independent students $14,992 ↓ $18,508
Female students $14,303 ↓ $19,197
Male students $9,500 ↓ $24,000
Pell recipients: 19.1% (6,386 students)No Pell: 16.1% (5,378 students)Dependent students: 13.0% (4,351 students)Independent students: 20.1% (6,718 students)Female students: 19.1% (6,410 students)Male students: 12.7% (4,257 students)Overall Median$33,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($33,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

26% of students who start here finish within six years, and 67% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
26%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
67%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $43,596 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$43,596
Earning > $25K
70%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$40,000$41,000$42,000$43,000$45,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$42,400

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$45,900

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$35,300

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$47,600

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$59,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 20.0 pts across 6 years
42.6%1yr50.7%3yr54.3%5yr62.6%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 63% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,693 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 53% are the first in their family to go to college, and 85% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
2,693
Part-Time
85%
First-Generation
53%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 33.4% 900
Black 29.3% 789
Hispanic 16.2% 435
Other 13.3% 357
Asian 3.1% 84
International 0.0% 1
White: 33.4% (900 students)Black: 29.3% (789 students)Hispanic: 16.2% (435 students)Other: 13.3% (357 students)Asian: 3.1% (84 students)International: 0.0% (1 students)Total2,693

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Goodwin University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City East Hartford, Connecticut
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 80 beds
Adult Learners
71% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Goodwin University offers a varied set of programs: 32 distinct programs across 9 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

13 Programs
4 Programs
5 Programs
2 Programs
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$254M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$58,850
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

87 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 6 7% $60,384
Associate Professors 17 20% $64,918
Assistant Professors 49 56% $56,977
Instructors 15 17% $57,476

Pros & Cons of Goodwin University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Goodwin University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Goodwin University is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Goodwin University

The questions families ask most about Goodwin University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Goodwin University cost?
Budget around $29,249 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Goodwin University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $43,596 a year against a net price of $29,249, about 1.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Goodwin University known for?
Mostly Nursing, Health Professions, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Goodwin University graduates earn?
About $43,596 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Goodwin University accredited?
Yes. Goodwin University is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Goodwin University?
2,693 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Goodwin University?
26% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Goodwin University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Goodwin University located?
Goodwin University is located in East Hartford, Connecticut.
What programs does Goodwin University offer?
32 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Health Professions, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Goodwin University?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.