Public Associate Fair 54/100

Guilford Technical Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Jamestown, North Carolina

About Guilford Technical Community College

Thinking about Guilford Technical Community College, a college in North Carolina where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Guilford Technical Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Jamestown, North Carolina. It enrolls 9,260 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
17.5%
Net Price
$15,002
Median Earnings (10yr)
$33,934
Enrollment
9,260
Student : Faculty
18:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
54/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 30
Value 32
Affordability 48
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Guilford Technical Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $15,002 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$15,002
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
43%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
25%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,320
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$7,696
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,736
Books & Supplies
$1,470
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$9,999
Total Cost of Attendance
$20,529

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $13,645
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $14,393
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $16,385
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $18,819
  • Over $110,000
    $20,353

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,751
10% percentile
$2,751
25% percentile
$14,901
Median percentile
$14,963
75% percentile
$29,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $8,399 ↓ $6,502
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $9,401
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $9,401
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $5,401
Female students $8,485 ↓ $6,416
Male students $5,502 ↓ $9,399
Pell recipients: 19.6% (2,918 students)No Pell: 12.8% (1,911 students)Dependent students: 12.8% (1,911 students)Independent students: 22.2% (3,301 students)Female students: 19.8% (2,948 students)Male students: 12.8% (1,912 students)Overall Median$14,901
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,499, less than completers ($14,901), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

18% of students who start here finish within six years, and 64% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
18%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
64%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $33,934 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$33,934
Earning > $25K
57%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$29,000$30,000$32,000$33,000$35,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$28,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$34,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$27,800

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$35,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$46,800

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $6,300, about 18% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 29.7 pts across 6 years
30.4%1yr35.9%3yr47%5yr60.2%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 60% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 9,260 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 44% are the first in their family to go to college, and 60% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
9,260
Part-Time
60%
First-Generation
44%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 36.7% 3,399
White 32.5% 3,010
Hispanic 16.4% 1,516
Asian 4.7% 436
Other 4.3% 394
International 1.7% 155
Black: 36.7% (3,399 students)White: 32.5% (3,010 students)Hispanic: 16.4% (1,516 students)Asian: 4.7% (436 students)Other: 4.3% (394 students)International: 1.7% (155 students)Total9,260

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Guilford Technical Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Jamestown, North Carolina
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
30% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Guilford Technical Community College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 52 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
10 Programs
4 Programs
5 Programs
1 Program
3 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 18 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
18:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$5,348
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$4.3M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$63,185
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

276 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 276 100% $63,185

Pros & Cons of Guilford Technical Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Guilford Technical Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Guilford Technical Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Guilford Technical Community College

The questions families ask most about Guilford Technical Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Guilford Technical Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Guilford Technical Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Guilford Technical Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Guilford Technical Community College cost?
Budget around $15,002 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Guilford Technical Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $33,934 a year against a net price of $15,002, about 2.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Guilford Technical Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Vehicle Maintenance, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Guilford Technical Community College graduates earn?
About $33,934 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Guilford Technical Community College accredited?
Yes. Guilford Technical Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Guilford Technical Community College?
9,260 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Guilford Technical Community College?
18% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Guilford Technical Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Guilford Technical Community College located?
Guilford Technical Community College is located in Jamestown, North Carolina.
What programs does Guilford Technical Community College offer?
52 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Vehicle Maintenance, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Guilford Technical Community College?
18 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.