Private Nonprofit Associate Fair 53/100

Harcum College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania

About Harcum College

Thinking about Harcum College, a college in Pennsylvania where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Harcum College is a private nonprofit institution offering associate degrees based in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 876 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
45.9%
Net Price
$24,776
Median Earnings (10yr)
$46,827
Enrollment
876
Student : Faculty
7:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
53/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 30
Value 26
Affordability 46
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Harcum College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $24,776 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$24,776
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
55%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
70%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$32,000
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,458
Books & Supplies
$1,596
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,552
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,404
Total Cost of Attendance
$42,997

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $21,881
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $19,744
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $26,450
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $31,428
  • Over $110,000
    $39,270

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,164
10% percentile
$8,000
25% percentile
$18,440
Median percentile
$22,438
75% percentile
$29,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,560 ↓ $6,880
No Pell $12,000 ↓ $6,440
Dependent students $11,000 ↓ $7,440
Independent students $13,250 ↓ $5,190
Female students $12,000 ↓ $6,440
Male students $10,250 ↓ $8,190
Pell recipients: 16.5% (3,043 students)No Pell: 17.1% (3,158 students)Dependent students: 15.7% (2,895 students)Independent students: 18.9% (3,487 students)Female students: 17.1% (3,158 students)Male students: 14.6% (2,698 students)Overall Median$18,440
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,333, less than completers ($18,440), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

46% of students who start here finish within six years, and 54% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
46%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
54%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $46,827 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$46,827
Earning > $25K
72%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$37,000$39,000$42,000$45,000$48,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$41,300

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$47,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$54,800

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 17.4 pts across 6 years
54.9%1yr59.5%3yr71.7%5yr72.4%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 72% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 876 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 52% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
876
Part-Time
36%
First-Generation
52%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 43.5% 381
White 27.7% 243
Hispanic 15.9% 139
International 5.8% 51
Other 3.8% 33
Asian 2.3% 20
Black: 43.5% (381 students)White: 27.7% (243 students)Hispanic: 15.9% (139 students)International: 5.8% (51 students)Other: 3.8% (33 students)Asian: 2.3% (20 students)Total876

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Harcum College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Housing
Partly residential 330 beds available
Adult Learners
45% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Agriculture graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Harcum College offers a varied set of programs: 18 distinct programs across 9 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
2 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 7 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
7:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$19M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$50,879
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

61 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 5 8% $61,262
Associate Professors 15 25% $57,751
Assistant Professors 21 34% $46,506
Instructors 20 33% $47,722

Pros & Cons of Harcum College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Harcum College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Harcum College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Harcum College

The questions families ask most about Harcum College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Harcum College hard to get into?
Not especially. Harcum College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Harcum College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Harcum College cost?
Budget around $24,776 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Harcum College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $46,827 a year against a net price of $24,776, about 1.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Harcum College known for?
Mostly Medical Assisting, Human Development, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Harcum College graduates earn?
About $46,827 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Harcum College accredited?
Yes. Harcum College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Harcum College?
876 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Harcum College?
46% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Harcum College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Harcum College located?
Harcum College is located in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Harcum College offer?
18 different programs, most commonly Medical Assisting, Human Development, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Harcum College?
7 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.