Public Associate Strong 76/100

Henderson Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Henderson, Kentucky

About Henderson Community College

Thinking about Henderson Community College, a college in Kentucky where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Henderson Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Henderson, Kentucky. It enrolls 880 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
21.8%
Net Price
$4,232
Median Earnings (10yr)
$35,714
Enrollment
880
Student : Faculty
19:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
76/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 50
Value 90
Affordability 65
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Henderson Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $4,232 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$4,232
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
32%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
12%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,728
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$6,432
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,814
Books & Supplies
$1,268
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,602
Total Cost of Attendance
$13,540

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $3,040
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $2,199
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $5,753
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $7,346
  • Over $110,000
    $11,877

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$3,476
25% percentile
$10,483
Median percentile
$12,738
75% percentile
$21,501
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,613 ↓ $2,870
No Pell $6,029 ↓ $4,454
Dependent students $5,526 ↓ $4,957
Independent students $8,036 ↓ $2,447
Female students $7,448 ↓ $3,035
Male students $7,597 ↓ $2,886
Pell recipients: 18.0% (1,889 students)No Pell: 14.3% (1,496 students)Dependent students: 13.1% (1,371 students)Independent students: 19.0% (1,994 students)Female students: 17.6% (1,848 students)Male students: 18.0% (1,885 students)Overall Median$10,483
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($10,483), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

22% of students who start here finish within six years, and 73% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
22%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
73%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $35,714 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$35,714
Earning > $25K
62%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$31,000$32,000$34,000$35,000$36,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$28,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$38,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,500, about 25% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.0 pts across 6 years
49.3%1yr51.2%3yr59.5%5yr65.3%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 65% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 880 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 48% are the first in their family to go to college, and 55% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
880
Part-Time
55%
First-Generation
48%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 77.3% 680
Black 9.7% 85
Hispanic 6.1% 54
Other 6.0% 53
Asian 0.3% 3
White: 77.3% (680 students)Black: 9.7% (85 students)Hispanic: 6.1% (54 students)Other: 6.0% (53 students)Asian: 0.3% (3 students)Total880

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Henderson Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Henderson, Kentucky
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
25% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Henderson Community College offers a varied set of programs: 19 distinct programs across 8 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 19 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
19:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,427
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$48,939
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

29 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 11 38% $58,184
Associate Professors 4 14% $47,834
Assistant Professors 3 10% $41,984
Instructors 10 34% $42,063
Lecturers 1 3% $41,283

Pros & Cons of Henderson Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Henderson Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, Henderson Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Henderson Community College

The questions families ask most about Henderson Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Henderson Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Henderson Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Henderson Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Henderson Community College cost?
Budget around $4,232 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Henderson Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $35,714 a year against a net price of $4,232, about 8.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Henderson Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Henderson Community College graduates earn?
About $35,714 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Henderson Community College accredited?
Yes. Henderson Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Henderson Community College?
880 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Henderson Community College?
22% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Henderson Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Henderson Community College located?
Henderson Community College is located in Henderson, Kentucky.
What programs does Henderson Community College offer?
19 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Henderson Community College?
19 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.