Thinking about Herzing University-Nashville, a college in Tennessee? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.
Herzing University-Nashville is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Nashville, Tennessee. It enrolls 201 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
60/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes63
Value13
Affordability72
Selectivity15
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Herzing University-Nashville admits 92.7% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
92.7%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $20,537 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$13,450
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,928
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,066
Total Cost of Attendance
$28,414
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$19,220
$48,001 – $75,000
$19,608
$75,001 – $110,000
$24,661
Over $110,000
$23,753
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,46610%percentile
$4,75025%percentile
$21,500Medianpercentile
$23,02475%percentile
$34,86690%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,122
↓ $10,378
No Pell $14,250
↓ $7,250
Dependent students $11,000
↓ $10,500
Independent students $12,018
↓ $9,482
Female students $11,575
↓ $9,925
Male students $12,998
↓ $8,502
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,862, less than completers ($21,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
35% of students who start here finish within six years, and 80% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
35%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
80%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $36,909 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$36,909
Earning > $25K
61%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$34,200
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$48,500
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$35,000
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$42,500
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$52,600
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $14,300, about 29% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
23.7 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Moderate. Only 63% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 201 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 52% are the first in their family to go to college, and 58% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
201
Part-Time
58%
First-Generation
52%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
Black 49.3%99
White 36.8%74
Hispanic 7.5%15
Other 2.0%4
Asian 1.0%2
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Herzing University-Nashville. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large CityNashville, Tennessee
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
79%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semesterscheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus
Faculty & Resources
There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$70,000
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Pros & Cons of Herzing University-Nashville
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Herzing University-Nashville is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Most students take on federal loans
No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for:
Based on the data, Herzing University-Nashville is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Herzing University-Nashville
The questions families ask most about Herzing University-Nashville, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Herzing University-Nashville hard to get into?
Not especially. Herzing University-Nashville admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 92.7%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Herzing University-Nashville?
92.7% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Herzing University-Nashville cost?
Budget around $20,537 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Herzing University-Nashville worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $36,909 a year against a net price of $20,537, about 1.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What do Herzing University-Nashville graduates earn?
About $36,909 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Herzing University-Nashville accredited?
Yes. Herzing University-Nashville is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Herzing University-Nashville?
201 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Herzing University-Nashville?
35% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Herzing University-Nashville a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Herzing University-Nashville located?
Herzing University-Nashville is located in Nashville, Tennessee.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Herzing University-Nashville?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Tennessee
Other colleges in Tennessee share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.