Hilbert College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Hamburg, New York. It enrolls 921 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
51/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes30
Value25
Affordability59
Selectivity5
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Hilbert College admits 97.2% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
97.2%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyNot ConsideredStandardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Hilbert College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Becoming less selective ↑
5.4 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,723 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$33,740
Room & Board (on-campus)
$14,920
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,600
Books & Supplies
$0
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,900
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,900
Total Cost of Attendance
$42,114
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$20,903
$30,001 – $48,000
$20,389
$48,001 – $75,000
$23,162
$75,001 – $110,000
$24,732
Over $110,000
$24,329
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$4,75010%percentile
$9,39325%percentile
$24,750Medianpercentile
$27,00075%percentile
$36,00090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $16,179
↓ $8,571
No Pell $14,000
↓ $10,750
Dependent students $15,000
↓ $9,750
Independent students $17,750
↓ $7,000
Female students $16,750
↓ $8,000
Male students $14,337
↓ $10,413
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,500, less than completers ($24,750), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
57% of students who start here finish within six years, and 63% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
57%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $48,309 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$48,309
Earning > $25K
78%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$41,600
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$55,600
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$40,700
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$47,400
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$54,000
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $14,000, about 25% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
19.2 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 78% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 921 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 38% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
921
Part-Time
5%
First-Generation
38%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 56.4%519
Black 12.2%112
Hispanic 9.0%83
Other 5.3%49
International 2.3%21
Asian 1.3%12
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Hilbert College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Hilbert College offers
a varied set of programs:
14 distinct programs across
9 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$21M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$57,355
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
38 instructional faculty across 3 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
12
32%
$67,561
Associate Professors
16
42%
$54,428
Assistant Professors
10
26%
$49,789
Pros & Cons of Hilbert College
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Hilbert College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for:
Based on the data, Hilbert College is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilbert College
The questions families ask most about Hilbert College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Hilbert College hard to get into?
Not especially. Hilbert College admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 97.2%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Hilbert College?
97.2% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Hilbert College cost?
Budget around $22,723 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Hilbert College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $48,309 a year against a net price of $22,723, about 2.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Hilbert College known for?
Mostly Public Safety, Criminal Justice, Criminal Justice. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Hilbert College graduates earn?
About $48,309 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Hilbert College accredited?
Yes. Hilbert College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Hilbert College?
921 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Hilbert College?
57% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Hilbert College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Hilbert College located?
Hilbert College is located in Hamburg, New York.
What programs does Hilbert College offer?
14 different programs, most commonly Public Safety, Criminal Justice, Criminal Justice. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Hilbert College?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in New York
Other colleges in New York share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.