Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Strong 80/100

Homestead Schools

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Torrance, California

About Homestead Schools

Thinking about Homestead Schools, a college in California where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Homestead Schools is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Torrance, California. It enrolls 157 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
83.9%
Net Price
$15,962
Median Earnings (10yr)
$59,398
Enrollment
157
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic Calendar Differs by Program

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
80/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 97
Value 59
Affordability 61
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Homestead Schools does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $15,962 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$15,962
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
66%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
60%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $16,839
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $16,839
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $13,693
  • Over $110,000
    $17,870

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$9,500
10% percentile
$13,072
25% percentile
$18,040
Median percentile
$17,072
75% percentile
$17,074
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $18,040 —
No Pell $18,040 —
Dependent students $10,786 ↓ $7,254
Independent students $18,040 —
Female students $18,040 —
Male students $18,040 —
Pell recipients: 17.9% (3,223 students)No Pell: 17.9% (3,223 students)Dependent students: 10.7% (1,927 students)Independent students: 17.9% (3,223 students)Female students: 17.9% (3,223 students)Male students: 17.9% (3,223 students)Overall Median$18,040
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($18,040), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

84% of students who start here finish within six years. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
84%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $59,398 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$59,398
Earning > $25K
77%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$40,000$45,000$50,000$55,000$60,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.7 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 157 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 53% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
157
Part-Time
20%
First-Generation
53%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Asian 36.9% 58
Black 35.0% 55
Hispanic 27.4% 43
White 0.6% 1
Asian: 36.9% (58 students)Black: 35.0% (55 students)Hispanic: 27.4% (43 students)White: 0.6% (1 students)Total157

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Homestead Schools. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Torrance, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
78% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Differs by Program scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

Homestead Schools offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$10M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$91,264
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

8 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 8 100% $91,264

Pros & Cons of Homestead Schools

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Homestead Schools is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Homestead Schools is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Homestead Schools

The questions families ask most about Homestead Schools, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Homestead Schools cost?
Budget around $15,962 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Homestead Schools worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $59,398 a year against a net price of $15,962, about 3.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Homestead Schools known for?
Mostly Practical Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Homestead Schools graduates earn?
About $59,398 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Homestead Schools accredited?
Yes. Homestead Schools is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend Homestead Schools?
157 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Homestead Schools?
84% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Homestead Schools a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Homestead Schools located?
Homestead Schools is located in Torrance, California.
What programs does Homestead Schools offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Practical Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Homestead Schools?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.