Public Bachelor's Good 64/100

Houston City College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Houston, Texas

About Houston City College

Thinking about Houston City College, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Houston City College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Houston, Texas. It enrolls 40,503 students (a very large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
14.3%
Net Price
$5,737
Median Earnings (10yr)
$39,254
Enrollment
40,503
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
64/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 13
Value 86
Affordability 66
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Houston City College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $5,737 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$5,737
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
36%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
15%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,040
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$5,460
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,330
Books & Supplies
$2,250
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,300
Total Cost of Attendance
$12,009

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $5,722
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $4,271
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $6,534
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $8,363
  • Over $110,000
    $10,123

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,894
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$13,921
Median percentile
$12,000
75% percentile
$22,522
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,499 ↓ $4,422
No Pell $5,750 ↓ $8,171
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $8,421
Independent students $9,501 ↓ $4,420
Female students $9,499 ↓ $4,422
Male students $7,535 ↓ $6,386
Pell recipients: 20.1% (2,797 students)No Pell: 12.2% (1,693 students)Dependent students: 11.6% (1,619 students)Independent students: 20.1% (2,797 students)Female students: 20.1% (2,797 students)Male students: 15.9% (2,218 students)Overall Median$13,921
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,750, less than completers ($13,921), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

14% of students who start here finish within six years. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
14%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $39,254 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$39,254
Earning > $25K
62%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$30,000$33,000$35,000$38,000$40,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$35,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$46,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$37,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$42,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$53,400

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,500, about 25% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 21.9 pts across 6 years
38.4%1yr45.1%3yr54%5yr60.3%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 60% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 40,503 students, a sprawling student community. Worth knowing: 50% are the first in their family to go to college, and 61% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
40,503
Part-Time
61%
First-Generation
50%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 36.9% 14,938
Black 27.5% 11,150
White 10.3% 4,188
International 10.1% 4,087
Asian 9.5% 3,844
Other 2.6% 1,057
Hispanic: 36.9% (14,938 students)Black: 27.5% (11,150 students)White: 10.3% (4,188 students)International: 10.1% (4,087 students)Asian: 9.5% (3,844 students)Other: 2.6% (1,057 students)Total40,503

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Houston City College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Houston, Texas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
33% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Houston City College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 91 distinct programs across 27 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
12 Programs
13 Programs
1 Program
7 Programs
9 Programs
4 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,290
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$11M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$77,342
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

854 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 854 100% $77,342

Pros & Cons of Houston City College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Houston City College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Wide variety of programs and student life
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Large institutional setting can feel impersonal
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Houston City College is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who want a large campus with breadth and variety.

Frequently Asked Questions about Houston City College

The questions families ask most about Houston City College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Houston City College cost?
Budget around $5,737 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Houston City College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $39,254 a year against a net price of $5,737, about 6.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Houston City College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Biology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Houston City College graduates earn?
About $39,254 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Houston City College accredited?
Yes. Houston City College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Houston City College?
40,503 students. Large, so expect big lectures and more independence in finding your own footing. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Houston City College?
14% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Houston City College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Houston City College located?
Houston City College is located in Houston, Texas.
What programs does Houston City College offer?
91 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Biology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Houston City College?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.