Public Associate Good 59/100

Howard Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Columbia, Maryland

About Howard Community College

Thinking about Howard Community College, a college in Maryland where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Howard Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Columbia, Maryland. It enrolls 6,649 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
16.8%
Net Price
$11,133
Median Earnings (10yr)
$49,020
Enrollment
6,649
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
59/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 31
Value 60
Affordability 37
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Howard Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,133 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,133
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
27%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
7%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,080
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$9,624
Room & Board (off-campus)
$24,498
Books & Supplies
$2,400
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,969
Total Cost of Attendance
$16,774

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,714
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $9,924
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $12,198
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $14,104
  • Over $110,000
    $15,881

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,700
10% percentile
$3,000
25% percentile
$10,500
Median percentile
$10,750
75% percentile
$19,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,116 ↓ $1,384
No Pell $6,116 ↓ $4,384
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $5,000
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $1,000
Female students $9,000 ↓ $1,500
Male students $6,000 ↓ $4,500
Pell recipients: 20.2% (2,116 students)No Pell: 13.5% (1,420 students)Dependent students: 12.2% (1,277 students)Independent students: 21.0% (2,205 students)Female students: 19.9% (2,089 students)Male students: 13.3% (1,393 students)Overall Median$10,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,000, close to what completers borrow ($10,500) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

17% of students who start here finish within six years, and 67% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
17%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
67%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $49,020 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$49,020
Earning > $25K
71%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$38,000$41,000$44,000$47,000$50,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$41,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$48,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$42,200

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$45,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$47,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $7,200, about 15% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.6 pts across 6 years
58%1yr57.8%3yr69%5yr74.6%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 75% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 6,649 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 39% are the first in their family to go to college, and 69% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
6,649
Part-Time
69%
First-Generation
39%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 31.6% 2,098
White 21.7% 1,440
Hispanic 15.5% 1,027
Asian 12.2% 810
International 7.5% 498
Other 6.8% 451
Black: 31.6% (2,098 students)White: 21.7% (1,440 students)Hispanic: 15.5% (1,027 students)Asian: 12.2% (810 students)International: 7.5% (498 students)Other: 6.8% (451 students)Total6,649

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Howard Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Columbia, Maryland
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
27% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Howard Community College offers a varied set of programs: 33 distinct programs across 12 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
7 Programs
5 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$9,130
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$13M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$79,248
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

181 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 71 39% $89,052
Associate Professors 63 35% $75,740
Assistant Professors 31 17% $71,263
Instructors 16 9% $65,025

Pros & Cons of Howard Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Howard Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Howard Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Howard Community College

The questions families ask most about Howard Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Howard Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Howard Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Howard Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Howard Community College cost?
Budget around $11,133 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Howard Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $49,020 a year against a net price of $11,133, about 4.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Howard Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Business. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Howard Community College graduates earn?
About $49,020 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Howard Community College accredited?
Yes. Howard Community College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Howard Community College?
6,649 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Howard Community College?
17% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Howard Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Howard Community College located?
Howard Community College is located in Columbia, Maryland.
What programs does Howard Community College offer?
33 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Business. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Howard Community College?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.