Public Associate Good 66/100

Independence Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Independence, Kansas

About Independence Community College

Thinking about Independence Community College, a college in Kansas where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Independence Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Independence, Kansas. It enrolls 486 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
18.8%
Net Price
$3,265
Median Earnings (10yr)
$34,941
Enrollment
486
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
66/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 10
Value 94
Affordability 72
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Independence Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $3,265 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$3,265
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
37%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
19%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,560
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$4,950
Room & Board (on-campus)
$7,200
Room & Board (off-campus)
$7,258
Books & Supplies
$816
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,200
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$8,824

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $2,934
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $3,435
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $1,685
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $6,220

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,312
10% percentile
$1,945
25% percentile
$6,115
Median percentile
$5,634
75% percentile
$8,750
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $4,476 ↓ $1,639
No Pell $6,500 ↑ $385
Dependent students $4,533 ↓ $1,582
Independent students $4,812 ↓ $1,303
Female students $5,500 ↓ $615
Male students $4,376 ↓ $1,739
Pell recipients: 14.8% (906 students)No Pell: 21.5% (1,316 students)Dependent students: 15.0% (918 students)Independent students: 15.9% (974 students)Female students: 18.2% (1,114 students)Male students: 14.5% (886 students)Overall Median$6,115
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,035, less than completers ($6,115), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

19% of students who start here finish within six years, and 50% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
19%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
50%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $34,941 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$34,941
Earning > $25K
56%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$29,000$31,000$32,000$34,000$36,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$26,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$36,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $10,000, about 28% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 10.3 pts across 6 years
45%1yr54.8%3yr55.3%5yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 55% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 486 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 38% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
486
Part-Time
17%
First-Generation
38%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 33.7% 164
Black 33.5% 163
Hispanic 8.9% 43
Other 8.0% 39
International 4.1% 20
White: 33.7% (164 students)Black: 33.5% (163 students)Hispanic: 8.9% (43 students)Other: 8.0% (39 students)International: 4.1% (20 students)Total486

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Independence Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Independence, Kansas
Housing
Mostly residential 296 beds on campus
Adult Learners
10% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Independence Community College offers a varied set of programs: 17 distinct programs across 11 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$9,137
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$52,472
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

26 instructional faculty across 2 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 15 58% $47,766
Associate Professors 11 42% $58,889

Pros & Cons of Independence Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Independence Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Independence Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Independence Community College

The questions families ask most about Independence Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Independence Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Independence Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Independence Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Independence Community College cost?
Budget around $3,265 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Independence Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $34,941 a year against a net price of $3,265, about 10.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Independence Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Medical Assisting. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Independence Community College graduates earn?
About $34,941 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Independence Community College accredited?
Yes. Independence Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Independence Community College?
486 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Independence Community College?
19% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Independence Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Independence Community College located?
Independence Community College is located in Independence, Kansas.
What programs does Independence Community College offer?
17 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Medical Assisting. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Independence Community College?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.