Public Graduate Fair 44/100

Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development

A public tribal college in Santa Fe, New Mexico dedicated to preserving and advancing American Indian and Alaska Native arts, culture, and heritage through specialized higher education.

Compare This College

Santa Fe, New Mexico

About Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development

Thinking about Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development, a college in New Mexico where more students graduate in Visual & Performing Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

The Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development is a public tribal college located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The school focuses on providing educational opportunities rooted in Native American cultures and artistic traditions. With a student body of 334 undergraduates and 70 graduate students, the institute serves as a cultural and educational hub for indigenous communities.

Acceptance
97.5%
Graduation
41.1%
Net Price
$12,570
Median Earnings (10yr)
$24,505
Enrollment
334
Student : Faculty
8:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

The institute earns an Average UCD Score of 43.78, which reflects its position as a specialized institution within the peer group of 4-year selective colleges. The score emphasizes the school's strengths in affordability and instructional investment relative to its peer institutions.

Fair
44/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 8
Value 18
Affordability 54
Selectivity 5

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

The institute has an acceptance rate of 97%, indicating an open admissions approach. Standardized test scores are not required for admission.

Acceptance Rate
97.5%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Not Considered Standardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable
100%2019100%2020100%2021100%2022100%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Annual tuition is $5,920 for both in-state and out-state students, with room and board costs averaging $13,028. The net price of attendance after grants varies by income level; students from families earning $0.30k pay approximately $10,974 annually, while those from families earning $75.110k pay about $21,413. This variation reflects available aid distribution patterns across income brackets.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$12,570
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
23%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$5,920
Room & Board (on-campus)
$13,028
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,648
Books & Supplies
$2,400
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,400
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,600
Total Cost of Attendance
$24,854

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $10,974
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $11,718
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $12,454
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $21,413
What this means: 23% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

The institute reports a graduation rate of 15%, which is notably low and reflects the challenges of degree completion at a small specialized institution. The retention rate is 64%, indicating that a significant portion of enrolled students continue to the following year.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
41%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
64%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Six years after enrollment, median earnings for graduates are approximately $20,816 annually. Ten years after enrollment, median earnings increase to $24,505, suggesting modest long-term wage growth in the careers pursued by graduates.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$24,505
Earning > $25K
41%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$20,500$21,500$22,500$24,000$25,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$1.9 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

About 38% of students are first-generation college students. The student body includes 11.7% Hispanic students and 10.2% white students, reflecting a diverse community centered on Native American educational experiences.

Total Enrolled
334
Part-Time
19%
First-Generation
38%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Other 76.6% 256
Hispanic 11.7% 39
White 10.2% 34
Other: 76.6% (256 students)Hispanic: 11.7% (39 students)White: 10.2% (34 students)Total334

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Santa Fe, New Mexico
Housing
Mostly residential 186 beds on campus
Adult Learners
18% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for English graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development offers a varied set of programs: 11 distinct programs across 4 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

The institute has a full-time faculty composition, with instructional spending of $15,463 per student. This reflects a strong commitment to educational investment and direct faculty engagement with learners.

Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$26,299
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$20M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$66,182
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

27 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 1 4% $83,734
Associate Professors 5 19% $77,407
Assistant Professors 21 78% $62,674

Pros & Cons of Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development

Strength: The institute offers a unique mission-driven education focused on Native American arts, culture, and heritage with strong instructional investment and minimal tuition costs. Concern: The graduation rate of 15% is notably low for a four-year institution, suggesting significant barriers to degree completion that prospective students should carefully consider.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development

Here are answers to common questions about the Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development.

What is the cost of attending the Institute?
Annual tuition is $5,920 for all students, regardless of residency. Room and board costs average $13,028 per year. After accounting for grants and financial aid, the net price varies by family income: students from families earning $0.30k pay approximately $10,974 annually; those from families earning $30.48k pay about $11,718; and those from families earning $75.110k pay roughly $21,413. One notable distinction is that the institute reports a loan rate of zero percent, which is an unusually rare distinction indicating that students do not take out federal loans to finance their education.
What are the graduation and retention rates?
The institute reports a graduation rate of 15%, which is notably low and reflects the specialized nature of the institution and potential barriers to degree completion. The retention rate is 64%, meaning that about 64% of enrolled students return for their second year. Prospective students should understand these rates when considering enrollment and may want to speak with current students and staff about support services available.
How selective is admission to the Institute?
The institute maintains an open admissions policy with an acceptance rate of 97%. Standardized test scores are not required for admission. This approach aligns with the institute's mission to provide educational access to American Indian and Alaska Native students seeking to study their cultures and arts.
What career outcomes can graduates expect?
Median earnings for graduates are approximately $20,816 six years after enrollment and $24,505 ten years after enrollment. These earnings reflect the career paths pursued by graduates, which are often in arts, cultural, and education sectors. The institute's focus on specialized cultural and artistic training means that many graduates may pursue careers centered on cultural preservation, education, and community development rather than high-earning corporate positions.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.