Public Associate Fair 52/100

Inver Hills Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota

About Inver Hills Community College

Thinking about Inver Hills Community College, a college in Minnesota where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Inver Hills Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota. It enrolls 2,193 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
23.3%
Net Price
$11,636
Median Earnings (10yr)
$49,898
Enrollment
2,193
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
52/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 14
Value 59
Affordability 32
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Inver Hills Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,636 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,636
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
24%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
15%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$6,146
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,800
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,764
Total Cost of Attendance
$17,103

Application fee: $20 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,373
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,062
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $11,168
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $13,787
  • Over $110,000
    $16,272

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,200
10% percentile
$4,000
25% percentile
$13,965
Median percentile
$15,500
75% percentile
$25,240
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $10,500 ↓ $3,465
No Pell $7,990 ↓ $5,975
Dependent students $6,500 ↓ $7,465
Independent students $13,000 ↓ $965
Female students $10,500 ↓ $3,465
Male students $6,934 ↓ $7,031
Pell recipients: 18.9% (2,646 students)No Pell: 14.4% (2,013 students)Dependent students: 11.7% (1,638 students)Independent students: 23.5% (3,276 students)Female students: 18.9% (2,646 students)Male students: 12.5% (1,747 students)Overall Median$13,965
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,693, less than completers ($13,965), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

23% of students who start here finish within six years, and 57% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
23%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
57%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $49,898 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$49,898
Earning > $25K
76%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$43,000$45,000$47,000$49,000$51,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$41,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$48,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$39,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$43,800

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$48,100

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $7,600, about 16% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 18.9 pts across 6 years
58.2%1yr64.2%3yr68.7%5yr77.1%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 77% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,193 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 33% are the first in their family to go to college, and 59% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
2,193
Part-Time
59%
First-Generation
33%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 49.4% 1,083
Black 21.8% 478
Hispanic 14.8% 324
Asian 6.7% 146
Other 6.0% 132
International 0.6% 12
White: 49.4% (1,083 students)Black: 21.8% (478 students)Hispanic: 14.8% (324 students)Asian: 6.7% (146 students)Other: 6.0% (132 students)International: 0.6% (12 students)Total2,193

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Inver Hills Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
23% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Inver Hills Community College offers a varied set of programs: 26 distinct programs across 14 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
5 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs
4 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,865
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$2.5M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$77,519
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

71 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 71 100% $77,519

Pros & Cons of Inver Hills Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Inver Hills Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Inver Hills Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Inver Hills Community College

The questions families ask most about Inver Hills Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Inver Hills Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Inver Hills Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Inver Hills Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Inver Hills Community College cost?
Budget around $11,636 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Inver Hills Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $49,898 a year against a net price of $11,636, about 4.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Inver Hills Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Inver Hills Community College graduates earn?
About $49,898 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Inver Hills Community College accredited?
Yes. Inver Hills Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Inver Hills Community College?
2,193 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Inver Hills Community College?
23% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Inver Hills Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Inver Hills Community College located?
Inver Hills Community College is located in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota.
What programs does Inver Hills Community College offer?
26 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Inver Hills Community College?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.