Kansas City Art Institute is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Kansas City, Missouri. It enrolls 812 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
59/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes52
Value4
Affordability49
Selectivity80
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Kansas City Art Institute admits 54.8% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.
Acceptance Rate
54.8%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Kansas City Art Institute is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Stable ↑
3.8 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $27,650 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$44,550
Room & Board (on-campus)
$13,651
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,436
Books & Supplies
$800
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,874
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,984
Total Cost of Attendance
$57,410
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$26,293
$30,001 – $48,000
$25,105
$48,001 – $75,000
$27,663
$75,001 – $110,000
$29,943
Over $110,000
$30,840
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$3,80110%percentile
$9,38025%percentile
$27,000Medianpercentile
$30,75075%percentile
$39,50090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $23,475
↓ $3,525
No Pell $19,441
↓ $7,559
Dependent students $21,500
↓ $5,500
Independent students $20,000
↓ $7,000
Female students $21,000
↓ $6,000
Male students $22,500
↓ $4,500
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($27,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
61% of students who start here finish within six years, and 77% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
61%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
77%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $37,032 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$37,032
Earning > $25K
61%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$33,000
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$33,400
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$32,200
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$32,400
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$34,100
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
7.8 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 71% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 812 students, a small, close-knit community.
Total Enrolled
812
Part-Time
1%
First-Generation
21%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 60.8%494
Hispanic 16.6%135
Black 8.4%68
Other 8.0%65
Asian 3.5%28
International 0.6%5
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Kansas City Art Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Kansas City Art Institute offers
a focused set of programs:
5 distinct programs across
3 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$139M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$66,944
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
60 instructional faculty across 3 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
17
28%
$77,292
Associate Professors
19
32%
$71,519
Assistant Professors
24
40%
$55,991
Pros & Cons of Kansas City Art Institute
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Kansas City Art Institute is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Best for:
Based on the data, Kansas City Art Institute is a fit for
students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Kansas City Art Institute
The questions families ask most about Kansas City Art Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Kansas City Art Institute hard to get into?
Admissions at Kansas City Art Institute are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 54.8%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Kansas City Art Institute?
54.8% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Kansas City Art Institute cost?
Budget around $27,650 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Kansas City Art Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $37,032 a year against a net price of $27,650, about 1.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Kansas City Art Institute known for?
Mostly Fine Arts, Design, Graphic Communications. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Kansas City Art Institute graduates earn?
About $37,032 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Kansas City Art Institute accredited?
Yes. Kansas City Art Institute is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Kansas City Art Institute?
812 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Kansas City Art Institute?
61% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Kansas City Art Institute a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Kansas City Art Institute located?
Kansas City Art Institute is located in Kansas City, Missouri.
What programs does Kansas City Art Institute offer?
5 different programs, most commonly Fine Arts, Design, Graphic Communications. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Kansas City Art Institute?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Missouri
Other colleges in Missouri share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Business Administration
Health Sciences
Kinesiology
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.