Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Strong 80/100

Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Ossining, New York

About Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary

Thinking about Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary, a college in New York where more students graduate in Philosophy & Religion than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Ossining, New York. It enrolls 205 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
$3,822
Median Earnings (10yr)
$36,442
Enrollment
205
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
80/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 90
Value 94
Affordability 94
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $3,822 a year on average, it sits well below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$3,822
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
82%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$13,200
Room & Board (on-campus)
$3,600
Room & Board (off-campus)
$2,600
Books & Supplies
$150
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$17,850

Application fee: $1 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $3,505
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $2,480
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $6,931
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $7,722
What this means: Aid reaches the majority of students: 82% receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the actual cost to you is likely far below the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

99% come back after first year. Students who arrive tend to stay, which is usually a good sign. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
99%
Returning for their second year
What this means: High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $36,442 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$36,442
Earning > $25K
—
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$24,000$28,000$31,000$35,000$38,0006 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$9.5 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 205 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
205
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 100.0% 205
White: 100.0% (205 students)Total205

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Ossining, New York
Housing
Strongly residential 175 beds for 205 students
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Men's college
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$5.8M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$20,453
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong first-year retention
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary

The questions families ask most about Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary cost?
Budget around $3,822 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $36,442 a year against a net price of $3,822, about 9.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary known for?
Mostly Religion/Religious Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary graduates earn?
About $36,442 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary accredited?
Yes. Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary is accredited by the Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools.
How many students attend Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary?
205 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary located?
Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary is located in Ossining, New York.
What programs does Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Religion/Religious Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Kehilath Yakov Rabbinical Seminary?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.