Public Associate Strong 71/100

Leeward Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Pearl City, Hawaii

About Leeward Community College

Thinking about Leeward Community College, a college in Hawaii where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Leeward Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Pearl City, Hawaii. It enrolls 3,438 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
24.4%
Net Price
$5,137
Median Earnings (10yr)
$39,899
Enrollment
3,438
Student : Faculty
21:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
71/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 46
Value 87
Affordability 47
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Leeward Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $5,137 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$5,137
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
18%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
4%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$3,214
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$8,350
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,501
Books & Supplies
$1,360
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,462
Total Cost of Attendance
$12,507

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $4,156
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $4,596
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $5,206
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $7,798
  • Over $110,000
    $11,554

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,510
10% percentile
$2,559
25% percentile
$8,970
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile
$18,081
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,500 ↓ $2,470
No Pell $5,000 ↓ $3,970
Dependent students $4,980 ↓ $3,990
Independent students $7,785 ↓ $1,185
Female students $5,500 ↓ $3,470
Male students $5,500 ↓ $3,470
Pell recipients: 18.4% (1,653 students)No Pell: 14.2% (1,272 students)Dependent students: 14.1% (1,267 students)Independent students: 22.1% (1,980 students)Female students: 15.6% (1,399 students)Male students: 15.6% (1,399 students)Overall Median$8,970
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,086, less than completers ($8,970), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

24% of students who start here finish within six years, and 70% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
24%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
70%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $39,899 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$39,899
Earning > $25K
65%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$33,000$35,000$37,000$39,000$41,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$36,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$41,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $5,200, about 13% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 12.7 pts across 6 years
50.5%1yr62.2%3yr63.3%5yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 63% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,438 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 45% are the first in their family to go to college, and 53% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,438
Part-Time
53%
First-Generation
45%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Other 37.5% 1,290
Asian 34.4% 1,182
Hispanic 17.3% 593
White 6.8% 235
Black 2.1% 72
International 1.4% 48
Other: 37.5% (1,290 students)Asian: 34.4% (1,182 students)Hispanic: 17.3% (593 students)White: 6.8% (235 students)Black: 2.1% (72 students)International: 1.4% (48 students)Total3,438

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Leeward Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Pearl City, Hawaii
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
30% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Computer Science graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Leeward Community College offers a varied set of programs: 26 distinct programs across 12 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
4 Programs
5 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 21 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
21:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$9,267
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$88,928
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

117 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 36 31% $107,889
Associate Professors 26 22% $88,933
Assistant Professors 39 33% $80,301
Instructors 16 14% $67,283

Pros & Cons of Leeward Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Leeward Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Leeward Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Leeward Community College

The questions families ask most about Leeward Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Leeward Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Leeward Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Leeward Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Leeward Community College cost?
Budget around $5,137 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Leeward Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $39,899 a year against a net price of $5,137, about 7.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Leeward Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Information Systems, Teaching Assistance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Leeward Community College graduates earn?
About $39,899 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Leeward Community College accredited?
Yes. Leeward Community College is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend Leeward Community College?
3,438 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Leeward Community College?
24% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Leeward Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Leeward Community College located?
Leeward Community College is located in Pearl City, Hawaii.
What programs does Leeward Community College offer?
26 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Information Systems, Teaching Assistance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Leeward Community College?
21 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.