Public Associate Strong 72/100

Lenoir Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Kinston, North Carolina

About Lenoir Community College

Thinking about Lenoir Community College, a college in North Carolina where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Lenoir Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Kinston, North Carolina. It enrolls 1,469 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
17.3%
Net Price
$4,127
Median Earnings (10yr)
$33,866
Enrollment
1,469
Student : Faculty
10:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
72/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 31
Value 89
Affordability 75
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Lenoir Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $4,127 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$4,127
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
42%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,578
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$8,722
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,062
Books & Supplies
$2,250
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,990
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,929

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $3,261
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $3,366
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $5,973
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $10,681
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 42% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

17% of students who start here finish within six years, and 61% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
17%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
61%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $33,866 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$33,866
Earning > $25K
57%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$27,000$29,000$31,000$33,000$35,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$28,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$32,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

What this means: Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$8.2 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,469 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 48% are the first in their family to go to college, and 63% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
1,469
Part-Time
63%
First-Generation
48%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 46.5% 683
Black 35.8% 526
Hispanic 13.7% 201
Other 3.2% 47
Asian 0.8% 12
White: 46.5% (683 students)Black: 35.8% (526 students)Hispanic: 13.7% (201 students)Other: 3.2% (47 students)Asian: 0.8% (12 students)Total1,469

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Lenoir Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Kinston, North Carolina
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
26% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Lenoir Community College offers a varied set of programs: 30 distinct programs across 13 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
7 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$12,372
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$7.1M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$50,474
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

86 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 86 100% $50,474

Pros & Cons of Lenoir Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Lenoir Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Lenoir Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Lenoir Community College

The questions families ask most about Lenoir Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Lenoir Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Lenoir Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Lenoir Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Lenoir Community College cost?
Budget around $4,127 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lenoir Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $33,866 a year against a net price of $4,127, about 8.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Lenoir Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Lenoir Community College graduates earn?
About $33,866 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lenoir Community College accredited?
Yes. Lenoir Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Lenoir Community College?
1,469 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Lenoir Community College?
17% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Lenoir Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Lenoir Community College located?
Lenoir Community College is located in Kinston, North Carolina.
What programs does Lenoir Community College offer?
30 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Lenoir Community College?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.