Public Associate Strong 71/100

Long Beach City College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Long Beach, California

About Long Beach City College

Thinking about Long Beach City College, a college in California where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Long Beach City College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Long Beach, California. It enrolls 22,427 students (a very large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
2.5%
Net Price
$6,202
Median Earnings (10yr)
$38,870
Enrollment
22,427
Student : Faculty
28:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
71/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 42
Value 78
Affordability 64
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Long Beach City College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $6,202 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$6,202
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
37%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
2%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$1,556
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$12,544
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,086
Books & Supplies
$1,062
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,930
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,503

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $5,505
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $5,412
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $8,180
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $10,042
  • Over $110,000
    $10,089

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,000
10% percentile
$3,400
25% percentile
$10,500
Median percentile
$9,000
75% percentile
$14,126
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,250 ↓ $3,250
No Pell $6,000 ↓ $4,500
Dependent students $5,000 ↓ $5,500
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $1,000
Female students $7,000 ↓ $3,500
Male students $7,000 ↓ $3,500
Pell recipients: 17.4% (1,823 students)No Pell: 14.4% (1,509 students)Dependent students: 12.0% (1,257 students)Independent students: 22.8% (2,389 students)Female students: 16.8% (1,760 students)Male students: 16.8% (1,760 students)Overall Median$10,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,000, less than completers ($10,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

2% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
2%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $38,870 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$38,870
Earning > $25K
61%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$30,000$32,000$35,000$38,000$40,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$30,700

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$38,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$32,200

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$38,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$42,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $7,500, about 20% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 19.6 pts across 6 years
38%1yr45.5%3yr53.2%5yr57.6%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 58% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 22,427 students, a sprawling student community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college, and 59% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
22,427
Part-Time
59%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 60.5% 13,557
White 12.0% 2,696
Black 11.9% 2,660
Asian 8.4% 1,877
Other 6.1% 1,357
International 0.4% 87
Hispanic: 60.5% (13,557 students)White: 12.0% (2,696 students)Black: 11.9% (2,660 students)Asian: 8.4% (1,877 students)Other: 6.1% (1,357 students)International: 0.4% (87 students)Total22,427

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Long Beach City College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Long Beach, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
37% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Long Beach City College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 94 distinct programs across 30 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
10 Programs
6 Programs
12 Programs
1 Program
10 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 28 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
28:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$3,729
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$71,392
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

346 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 346 100% $71,392

Pros & Cons of Long Beach City College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Long Beach City College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Long Beach City College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Long Beach City College

The questions families ask most about Long Beach City College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Long Beach City College hard to get into?
Not especially. Long Beach City College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Long Beach City College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Long Beach City College cost?
Budget around $6,202 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Long Beach City College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $38,870 a year against a net price of $6,202, about 6.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Long Beach City College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Psychology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Long Beach City College graduates earn?
About $38,870 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Long Beach City College accredited?
Yes. Long Beach City College is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend Long Beach City College?
22,427 students. Large, so expect big lectures and more independence in finding your own footing. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Long Beach City College?
2% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Long Beach City College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Long Beach City College located?
Long Beach City College is located in Long Beach, California.
What programs does Long Beach City College offer?
94 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Psychology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Long Beach City College?
28 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.